1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Effective Adult Sunday School Teaching Methods?

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by JohnB, Nov 20, 2006.

1. JohnB

JohnB New Member

I have been teaching adult Sunday school for many years, but am always looking for the "most effective" techniques in teaching.

Here are some various techniques that I would like feedback on:

1. Handouts vs. no handouts
    2. If handouts, fill in the blank or not
    3. Multiple-point outlines vs. one point lessons.
    4. "Seminary" type classes (extensive, detailed notes/books) vs. more devotional approach.
    5. Chapter and verse vs topical teaching.
    6. Age graded vs. electives
    7. Lecture vs. discussion

I know this is very broad, but I would like feedback as to what you find "effective."

And how do you measure effectiveness?

2. Amy.G

Amy.G New Member