1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Temple Baptist Seminary

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by Heavenhlpr, Jul 2, 2007.

1. Heavenhlpr

Heavenhlpr New Member

Are there any current students or alumni that can share some thoughts concerning the D. Min. program? Quality of the teaching, number of students in the program, accessibility of the Profs, etc.

Also, how has the new president (Lovett) impacted the schools (TTU/TBS) since he assumed the presidency?

www.templebaptistseminary.edu

2. John of Japan

John of Japan Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Hello, Heavenhlpr. Welcome to the BB.

I am a TTU grad and had a year at TBS (graduated elsewhere) many years ago, and have tried to keep track. First of all, they have a good program academically. The teaching is usually good and they are TRACS accredited. I understand that their distance education program is good, but I haven't taken any classes through it.

Having said that, a few things bother me. Take a look at the list of faculty. Among the full time faculty you have Dr. Roger Martin, a great teacher who has been there since 1970. I took "Life of Christ" under him in 1977--and okay, he's my uncle so I'm prejudiced! :smilewinkgrin:

Kevin Woodruff has been there since 1996. He's a friend of my sister's, and I've corresponded a little with him about a book which the author gave permission for me to have in PDF. He's a good guy, but I don't know what kind of a teacher he is.