1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

A Brave New World is Here and Now!

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by North Carolina Tentmaker, Nov 10, 2006.

1. North Carolina Tentmaker

I am a student at Master’s Divinity School (now Master’s International School of Divinity). My fall 2006 copy of Master’s Journey just arrived today and there is a great article in there by Steven K. Haught called, “A Brave New World is Here and Now!” I believe this link will let you read the entire article.

http://editor.ne16.com/mdivs/MJ_first_edition_11-06.pdf

The subject of the article is of course distance education. Let me give you some highlights:

The battle of course goes far beyond accreditation and really applies to our model of education itself. In business and manufacturing we are constantly challenged to “break the paradigm” and “think outside the box.” Yet when it comes to education we are still locked up inside a classroom with desks and professor lecturing at the blackboard. Education based on the students personal initiative and ownership of the process, something we would praise in business, is dissed as “non-traditional” or assaulted on this very board as “questionable distance learning degrees.”

2. paidagogos

paidagogos Active Member

One-sided view

Thank you for bringing this article, which many of us would have missed, to our attention. I do, however, have some observations and criticisms of the article. Rather than spend time in a bandwidth-wasting essay, I will simply delineate some observations and criticisms in numbered format for thought and discussion.