1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

A Christian filmmaker's responsibilty

Discussion in 'Free-For-All Archives' started by KeithKorg19, May 23, 2004.

1. KeithKorg19

KeithKorg19 New Member

Hello all,
    As a aspiring filmmaker I have been thinking over this question for a long time. What kind of content can or should a Christian made film have? I hear a lot of Christians critisize movies that have sinful situations, even if those situations are protrayed as a negative thing. This doesn't seem right to me.
    So what responsiblity does a Christian filmmaker have? Should he be limited in the subject matter he deals with? Can sex, nudity, cursing, or violence ever be justified? Even if used in a context that futhers the message of the movie?

What are your thoughts?

2. NaasPreacher (C4K)

NaasPreacher (C4K) Well-Known Member

Good question Keith.

A lot depends on what you are trying to do. Is it evangalism, edification, or entertainment.

I for one certainly think that the topic you mentioned should not be portrayed on screen. See Ephesians 5 for some of my reasoning. All of thses attitudes can be depicted in a high quality film with good actors without showing any actual sex, nudity, cursing, or violence.

There is a film out that, though the acting is campy, does a good job of indicating wickedness without "showing anything". It is called "In Your Wildest Dreams." Have a look for some ideas. I know that Feature Films for the Family releases it.

A Christian filmaker has a responsibility to honour the Lord in all that he produces and not to stir up purient interest.

3. KeithKorg19

KeithKorg19 New Member