1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Accreditation question

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by Mexdeaf, Nov 19, 2007.

1. Mexdeaf

Mexdeaf New Member

Would credits received at a SACS accredited school transfer to a SACS and TRACS accredited school?

Thanks.

2. Rhetorician

Rhetorician Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    Mexdef,

It is good to hear from you again.

This is one of those "yes" and "no" questions at the same time. I will not try to answer the TRACS question b/c I have no experience with them more than just to hazard a guess: if the courses were taken at a TRACS accredited school then my guess is that they will not necessarily be received at a SACS school. But, it might work the other-way-round.

Now let me talk about the little I know!:laugh: One of the major issues for accreditation, especially with the SACS/Regional Accreditation, is that there is an assumed, as well as spelled out "across the board" receiving of courses from school to school.

There is a "BUT," and it is a big "BUT" (no pun intended). The receiving school's course description has to line up "line upon line" as it were with the other school.

We have this incident come up regularly at the little (and SACS Accredited) school where I have taught for 10 years. Sometimes we even have to get a copy of the syllabus, in a specific class, and interview the student as to the course content. Then and only then can we, the receiving school, make the call on a casuistic (for those not knowing anything about rhetoric, that means a case-by-case) basis.