1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Americans Ignorant of Our History/Heritage Study Reports

Discussion in 'News & Current Events' started by windcatcher, Nov 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. windcatcher

windcatcher New Member

MORE HERE ...

2. Martin

Martin Active Member

Faith:
    Baptist
    The current situation in history and civics is very bad. As a college history instructor I could give you more than a few examples of college students displaying amazing historical ignorance. Two weeks ago, during my introduction lecture to the American Revolution, I had a student inform me (and the class) that in 1776 America declared independence from Spain. I don't know why but that seems to be a common mistake people make.

I think the major problem is that many public schools have dropped history in favor of social studies. While social studies is fine and good, it does not give students the real meat of history. It does not prepare students to walk into my American History I or Western Civilization I college level courses. Therefore I, and other history instructors, have to spend too much time teaching material the students should already know (ie...that America declared independence from Great Britain in 1776).

Why are public schools no longer teaching history?

Well, in North Carolina it is because of the end of grade exams (EOG) that students are required to pass. Teachers are now forced to "teach to the test" instead of educating their students. Thus they focus on math and science more than history. Until this odd obsession with exams ends we are going to continue to see horrible levels of ignorance when it comes to things like history and civics.

3. Revmitchell