1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Apocrypha Question--Help Needed

Discussion in '2003 Archive' started by CalvinG, Oct 29, 2003.

1. CalvinG

CalvinG New Member

I am a relatively educated professional who is not a minister and who has gotten perhaps over my head in a theological discussion with a Catholic.

I would like to pose a question to my Protestant brethren (assuming my registration is actually working). I am in an ongoing debate with a Catholic regarding the canonical quality or lack thereof of the Apocrypha. She has shown me writings indicating that these books of the Septuagint were included in the "canon" prior to 400 A.D., which is over a mellinium before the Protestant Reformation. And these appear to have been accepted as canon by the same council setting out what is our present New Testament.

Given that these books appear in the Gutenburg (?sp) Bible and that the Septuagint appears to have been in general use by the Greek-speaking community of Jews, especially in Egypt, and given its early inclusion in the canon by the RCC circa 400 A.D. (even if this adoption was not authoritative at the time), I am in need of a good, cogent response to her. Rest assured that anything I say will have its source checked (since I have copied and sent false materials from some of the more anti-Catholic Protestant websites, without checking my sources, to my regret). As with almost everything that is church doctrine, the Catholic sources make it look as if this is the way the canon was from the inception of the early church, recognize tradition as authority, and say that the time something is declared may be much later than the time it was generally recognized.

What would be particularly appreciated would be: