1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Are Christians required to Tithe?

Discussion in '2003 Archive' started by IfbReformer, Jun 18, 2003.

1. IfbReformer

IfbReformer New Member

I studied the issue of tithing about 10 years ago
    and came to a conclusion based off my study of
    the scriptures that Christians are not under
    the law of tithing.

I have recently put together this article for my website and wanted to let you all take a stab at it.

I know many Christians have strong views on this
    but I hope you will read the article below that I just posted to my site before you turn me off.

I was just going to post excerpts - but it does
    not do it justice to look at it in bits and pieces.

To read the article in its entirety go to http://www.ifbreformation.org/tithing.html

I look forward to your observations both for or
    against. But as always keep your responses civil and speak what you believe to be the truth in brotherly love.

IFBReformer

2. Johnv

Johnv New Member

Required? Maybe not.

But should they? Yes. It's a matter of obedience. Moreover, it's a matter of discipline.

3. ByGrace

ByGrace New Member

God is not looking for people to tithe. I believe God wants his people to obey Him as he speaks to your heart and determine the amount you can freely give and cheerfully give it.

God is not sitting in heaven giving brownie points to those who tithe and bad marks to those who don't. Just because you tithe does not mean you are pleasing God.

4. IfbReformer

IfbReformer New Member

If you are saying you believe it is a matter of obedience than you believe it is required.

Did you read the article?

IFBReformer

5. Deacon

Deacon Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist