AVG antivirus problems

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Rich_UK, May 6, 2004.

  1. Rich_UK

    Rich_UK
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6181.jpg>

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    I posted this, but the title was typed as AMG instead of AVG by accident....here was my question..

    I noticed that a fair number of people reccomend the AVG antivirus....I downloaded it but always seem to get the same problem that I had in the past when I used AVG antivirus....Im using the free program btw which I was reccomended...
    when I do a scan, it found and cleaned a virus called a trojan horse..which is fine....but when I click the "Test Results" button, and then click "detail info"...it shows a whole list of files that says "cannot open---not checked" ......why is this?....surely if this is the case, then some of those files might be infected and I won't even know about it...
    Thanks for any help.....
     
  2. Bethelassoc

    Bethelassoc
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rich:

    I know what you mean.

    I am a Technology Coordinator at a school district here in Missouri. We use AVG 6.0 as our main antivirus program on over 600 computers.

    We've been quite disappointed with the program. AVG normally doesn't find what other programs find like McAfee, etc.

    "You get what you pay for" is the moral to our story. We use symantec's website (http://www.symantec.com) for antivirus checks before we even think about trying to use AVG.

    So far, AVG has found infected files in the cache folder and that's it.

    We are hoping (and praying) that we will have the funding to purchase a program like Norton for over 600 PCs! $$$$$

    Hang in there,

    David White
     
  3. JGrubbs

    JGrubbs
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4,761
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been very happy with AVG. The only viruses I have found that it can't remove are the ones in the _RESTORE dirctroy, but none of the virus scanners can remove them.
     
  4. Rich_UK

    Rich_UK
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6181.jpg>

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys
     
  5. JGrubbs

    JGrubbs
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4,761
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found to remove any viruses in the Windows _RESTORE directory, you have to disable System Restore, then run the virus scanner.
     
  6. superdave

    superdave
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2000
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only way to eliminate viruses in the proper way, is to remove the virus that is allowing them to infect your system, Windows.

    Especially if you have one of the "cheap" Operating systems Microsoft made, ME or XPhome (to a lesser degree)

    My laptop does have windows 2000 on it, dual boots to Linux (Sun JDS2003) and I use Symantec Firewall, Norton Antivirus, all my internet access is from secure networks that have a hardware spi or nat firewall between me and the net, and I don't use Internet Explorer or Look Out Express, I have never had a virus or an intrusion problem. I also use Cisco VPN software to connect to my companies network. Linux is much safer to use, but also more difficult to use and its harder to get support, especially for wireless networking, and there is not as much tested fully integrated software out there, but as that changes, it will become more popular because it is more secure by design. You have to have root password access to edit system files, a feature not present in Windows that has proven time and again to be a major security breach.

    If you have windows, you really can't afford not to buy the best security protection you can get, it really should not even be an option.

    I know several people who use AVG, but they have also gotten viruses, so I don't know what to tell you. It is supposedly the best free product out there. Its from the Czech republic, and those eastern Europeans do know a few things about Viruses if you know what I mean ;)
     
  7. David J

    David J
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rich,
    I use AVG 7.0 pro and I have not had any problems with it. I have read that AVG 6.0 was bad. I would say download the Pro demo version and if you like it after 15 days just pay $33.00 for 2 years of updates.

    I would stay away from Norton AV2004. Seems that Symantec is more interested in product activation that customer service. Do a google search for "norton AV 2004 "complaints' "problems" and you will find some very interesting stuff about Symantec. Norton is not the best AV by far. Panda AV is better than Norton's and Trend Micro PC-cillin Internet Security being the best.

    I am happy with AVG, but the next product that I will buy will be Trend Micro's PC -Cillin because it includes everything that you need.

    http://www.trendmicro.com/en/home/us/personal.htm

    David
     
  8. superdave

    superdave
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2000
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used to use Trend Micro, my company used it, now they use Norton, I really liked PC-cillin, it was completely automated, and seemed to work well.
     
  9. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using eTrust's EZArmor. It has a great firewall, and a great AV. I got it while eTrust was running a one year free subscription, and it has worked great.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  10. baptistteacher

    baptistteacher
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Posated by superdave:
    "The only way to eliminate viruses in the proper way, is to remove the virus that is allowing them to infect your system, Windows."

    Amen, brother!

    (By the way, I use a Mac. ;) )

    But anyway, I used to use a free anti-virus, now have the one that is a part of TechTool Pro, a Mac utilities program similar to Norton, only the Mac version of Norton is not as good as TechTool. And Norton for Mac is way too high priced. That is why it hasn't sold well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...