1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Book for unbeliever?

Discussion in 'Evangelism, Missions & Witnessing' started by Marcia, Aug 28, 2006.

1. Marcia

Marcia Active Member

I wasn't sure where to pose this question on the BB, but finally decided this might be the best place.

I've been emailing for about 6 or 7 yrs. with a young man in Ireland who is not a believer and has been very much into psychics, astrology, dreams, ghosts, Deepak Chopra, etc., etc. By God's grace, this young man has been gradually turning away from all this over the last few years , and he even bought 2 Bibles after I kept urging him to read the Bible. He now seems to be seeking more earnestly and is asking me if I know of a good book about Jesus. The fact that he has gone to a bookstore to look for such a book is a major turning point, imo.

He says this:
    "...maybe you could recommend some books for me, maybe something about what Jesus taught and how to live my life by jesus-s teachings, or understanding human nature and why we sin."

Very important - even though he is 27, he seems to have the mind of someone younger. So I need a recommendation for something pretty basic (not academic, please), but not childish (or he will be insulted, I'm sure). I know he has self-worth issues and I think he has some emotional/social interaction issues as well. His mother died when he was 11 or 12 and his father is very abusive. He lives on his own, but is very scarred from the past. I am praising God that he is asking me about such a book.