1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Church Discipline?

Discussion in '2003 Archive' started by C.S. Murphy, Oct 14, 2003.

1. C.S. Murphy

C.S. Murphy New Member

Being a SBC pastor I know little about church discipline [​IMG] but I have to ask a question. If the following imaginary event occured in an SBC church would you consider the actions of the pastor normal and can you state biblical evidence why it is correct. A young widower with children who is a strong worker in the church (childrens ss etc.) begins dating. This apparently does not meet the approval of the leadership and she is stripped of her duties. After being called into the office and having her so called sinful behaviour explained to her she never returns to church. About 2 months later the pastor informs the church that they are removing her from fellowhip. The members are told to keep communication with this person to an absolute minimum and that nobody should be seen publically with her.

Let me know your thoughts.
    Murph

2. Gunther

Gunther New Member

Is it wrong for a widower to date? I don't follow.

3. Don

Don Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I don't care whether the church is SBC or otherwise; I need to hear more about what the church is using to justify this behavior towards her, since scripture seems to indicate she's doing nothing wrong.

1 Corinthians 7:8 I say therefore to the unmarried and widows, It is good for them if they abide even as I.
    9 But if they cannot contain, let them marry: for it is better to marry than to burn.

Is it that she's carrying on a sexual (out of wedlock) relationship? If so, how did they come to find this out?

4. C.S. Murphy

C.S. Murphy New Member