computer froze

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by donnA, Jul 29, 2009.

  1. donnA

    donnA
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    23,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    My computer froze, won't do anything, I am currently on my old computer with windows 98, can't do anything but most basic, not liking this at all. But the other one will not do anything at all, at one time I couldn't even more the curser, the clock even freezes, can't click on anyhting, nothing happens. The guy I talked to thought it might be a virus. I have two virus programs, both update and run everyday. Of course if it's not a virus I won't be able to afford to fix it. The virus removal and making sure it works, and can do internet is going to be $55. hard to pay but we can make it. More then that and it may be a long time before I'm back online becasue nothing online wants to work with my 98.
     
  2. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,293
    Likes Received:
    783

    Take it out of the freezer.
     
  3. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,293
    Likes Received:
    783
    Are there any error warnings given at all? If not as easy as it is to reformat it is almost not worth tracking down the problem. Just dump it ad start over.
     
  4. donnA

    donnA
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    23,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dump what, the computer? If I did I wouldn't ever have another computer, won't be able too, no money and the way it looks even less money in the future.
    If I put a disc in it won't open it, so I can't reformat, unless theres something I don't know. Which is probable.
    No error warnings of anykind.
    Well at least the prople I'm taking it too do not charge to check and see whats wrong with it. Just hoping it's something I can get taken care of.
     
  5. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Have you shut it down and started it again?

    If so where there any messages? How far did it get in the restart?

    Have you installed any new software/hardware just prior to the problem?

    Lots of things to do before reformatting.

    Shut it down/and as it restarts press F8 and you should get a screen asking what you want to do. If you have installed something just prior to the problem choose safe mode and when it comes up uninstall that item.

    If not choose the last known setup that worked and see if that doesn't take care of your problem.

    If it is as hot where you are as it is here get in the freezer. Was 107 yesterday and today is to be hotter.
     
  6. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,293
    Likes Received:
    783
    Dump meaning reformat
     
  7. Magnetic Poles

    Magnetic Poles
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,407
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if it would have booted into safe mode?

    If it locked up it sounds more like corruption of a Windows file to me, but I would have to have more details as to what it did, how it did it, and what it looked like.
     
  9. donnA

    donnA
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    23,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it back good as new, turned out it was all the previous stuff everyone kept telling me to download was making it freeze becasue it all wanted to run and update all the time.
     
  10. billwald

    billwald
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2000
    Messages:
    11,414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try pulling the hard drive. See if it will then boot off your windows 98 disk. If it does, get a new (to you) hard drive.
     
  11. rdwhite

    rdwhite
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is a problem using Windows, many programs want to preload as windows is booting up and your available memory to run the actual programs you want is very small. Then when you want to use a robust program that requires a lot of memory it will usually lock the system up.

    Take a look at the programs that have set themselves to preload when starting up. Many of them really do not need to preload and you can remove them from the list. This will greatly increase your computer's performance and will also allow the system to boot up faster.
     
  12. donnA

    donnA
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    23,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, the guy who work on it turned off a bunch of stuff that didn't need to be on, and eleted some of the anti spy/mal ware programs and kept the best. But I'll keep this in mind for better maintance.
     
  13. rdwhite

    rdwhite
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason most windows software developers assume that if you install their program that means that you intend for the program to load at startup. Its crazy, but each time you install something new, check the startup programs file, and more often than not, the program set itself to pre-load when the computer boots up. Just delete the shortcut from the startup file and it should take care of future problems.
     
  14. donnA

    donnA
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    23,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, good to know
     
  15. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,293
    Likes Received:
    783
    ccleaner makes this real easy.
     
  16. Winman

    Winman
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, CCleaner is great, one of the best programs ever, and it's free! :thumbs:

    I have it so CCleaner comes on at Startup, cleans out all temp files and junk like that. You can also turn off or on programs for Startup, and if you click Registry it will fix problems in your Registry. Fantastic program.

    A super-easy trick that will make your computer run much faster is to right-click on Recycle Bin, click on Properties. A box will open showing how much memory is used for the Recycle bin. The default is 10% and you'll never need it. Check "use one setting for all drives" then pull the slider down from 10% to 1%. Click on Apply. You will notice your computer operates much faster immediately.
     
  17. rdwhite

    rdwhite
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great Tip!! :thumbs:

    That is one that I did not know.
     
  18. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I prefer to disable the Recycle Bin but you have to be careful about what you choose to delete... there is no "oops" allowed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...