Computer Problem

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by following-Him, Jul 25, 2006.

  1. following-Him

    following-Him
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    10,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would be very grateful if someone could help me with a problem we have with our computer.

    The cursor started either freezing or disappearing and now it has got so bad that I can't even boot up without the system freezing.

    We have Windows 2000ME and a firewall if that might be significant in any way. I haven't even been able to to a full scan disk except by using a disk because the system freezes so often and now it seems to have come to a complete halt. Any help, advise, information would be gratefully appreciated.:confused:

    Many Thanks

    followinghim
     
  2. Deacon

    Deacon
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6,972
    Likes Received:
    129
    Well one BIG problem is your operating system.

    Windows Millennium is an unstable system.
    It's hard to believe you haven't had problems before this!

    Hope you made backups. :praying:

    My suggestion; rush out and upgrade, then reformat.

    Rob
     
  3. following-Him

    following-Him
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    10,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Deacon, we have never had anything like this happen before. I can't even get in to access my some of my uni notes which are in my documents.

    You said upgrade...what about Windows XP? Would that be a better option?

    Blessings

    followinghim
     
  4. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Did you install any software or hardware just before the problem appeared?

    Firewall shouldn't cause it I wouldn't think but you could turn it off and see if it makes a difference.

    You might go to "Device Manager" if ME has it and see if you have any warnings of items not functioning properly.
     
  5. following-Him

    following-Him
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    10,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exscentric, now that you mention it, I did install the latest edition of Yahoo messenger and I have noticed a lot of yahoo messenger error notices coming up. Could that possibly be the problem and if so, however do I delete it if I can't log on at the moment? That is the only thing I can think of at present.

    Blessings

    followinghim
     
  6. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've had problems last three times I tried to use Yahoo with my XP. In fact one of the times I had to completely restore to solve my problems. I'm sure it was interacting with some program I had but never figured out what.

    Does ME have safe mode? Can you get into it? That might give you some information. If it works in safe mode you would assume that it is program/driver problems rather than windows.

    I've not had too much experience with ME. I'd think if you go to the menus and see if there is an uninstall for yahoo you could try it. If it says it worked I'd think it would have cleared things out. I'd try in safe mode first and see if you can uninstall it.

    By the way my wife uses yahoo on her rig without a problem. Just something in the motherboard/software I use I guess.
     
  7. OrovilleTim

    OrovilleTim
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    My suggestion, if you plan to follow this suggestion, is to reformat before upgrading. Otherwise, you'll do work on the upgrade, and then reformat to a bare drive.

    My suggestion, if you don't plan to follow this suggestion, is just make sure you remove any unncessary programs that may be loading at startup. You have touched on Yahoo messenger, and that may be a good place to start. Worst case; it wasn't it, and you can re-install it.

    I know people knock ME, but my kid's computer has been running it since 99/2000 or so. They install a lot of kids games on it and have never had a problem. It doesn't run any Internet apps besides AOL (as we let them use KOL for the Parental Controls.) The key is not installing anything on it that was meant for a much more capable computer. Now if I installed XP on the machine, I bet I'd have a useless brick as it would be too slow.
     
  8. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    You said ya have a firewall..any type of anti-virus? If its not the Yahoo...then it may be a bug...or more than one.
    Also if you do upgrade I would suggest 2000Pro instead of XP, but thats just an idea. I'vr run it with very little problems since 2001 & most of the few problems were my own doins! Couse that was before I became a wiz!!
     
  9. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reformatting should only be considered as a last alternative, ever.

    Uninstall Yahoo Messenger, and download Trillian:
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=680

    Or Gaim:
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4262

    Neither sem to be prone to the same problems as the IM clients themselves.

    If your computer can handle XP, you won't be disappoint you. It's taken MicroSoft six years, but they have finally got a good operating system put together... just in time for MS to release their next monstrosity.

    Good thinking. Go to http://housecall.trendmicro.com/ and use their free online virus scan to make sure.
     
  10. following-Him

    following-Him
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    10,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is Sam (the Son)

    The only way a complete disk scan could be done was to boot from a windows 98 cd (ohhh we evan have 3.1 and 3.11 for workgroups laying around). This didnt seem to solve anything at all.

    The firewall is built into our belkin router which im am also connected to via this tower and my laptop and its never been a problem before.

    The antivirus mum uses at the moment is AVG free. A scan was done before the problem got worse and eventually ended up clean.

    Also used system mechanic to check for spyware / adware / keyloggers.

    As for backing up, given the situation it might seem impossible as the pc now wont evan boot into windows. So given that although i think this problem might be due to some kind of malicious code, and i have a great antivirus program, i can easily just rip the hard drive out of mum's pc and install it as a slave in my tower to retrieve and documents needed, then replace it in mums and get a restore / upgrade done. Luckily before the problem got to this point they already backed up photos and her uni work.

    I think dad is about to try a restore, so im sure they will let you know how they get on.
     
  11. following-Him

    following-Him
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    10,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well that didnt work at all, so its now sitting in a PC Clinic, the guys there are going to call sometime this afternoon with info and costs.
     
  12. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry yur havin such problems. If yur guys call back & say they WILL have to reinstall your OS then ya might want to do that yourself & save some money. Not hard to do, just takes time...depending on your system. Mine is O-L-D with 350Mghz processor & I can install 2000in about 30-40 min. Thats reformatting with a clean install. Whichever platform ya install....UPDATE first thing!!
    If you prefer an older OS (some do, like my wife!) I'd go with 98 SE over Millinium anyday. I don't know if XP gives ya a choice on filing systems, 2000Pro does, FAT (same as 95/98/ME) or NTFS. I'd go with the NTFS., Also, if you use WindowsIE as yur browser, BE SURE to keep it updated as well!! Or use FireFox.
    Well thats my 2&1/2 cents worth! Hope its something simple!
     
    #12 preacher, Jul 26, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2006
  13. following-Him

    following-Him
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    10,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    The man called back and said it was terminal, the comp is dead. Something to do with the motherboard? Anyway, he said it is new computer time so we went back to Evesham and chose another computer and it should be delivered in just over a week.

    Thank you so much for all your help and advise. I really do appreciate it.

    God Bless

    followinghim
     
  14. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorrry to hear that...just out of curiosity, how old was it?
     
  15. NateT

    NateT
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounded to me like an IRQ type issue (anyone remember those?) Which would actually fall under "Motherboard failure" now, since so many of the controllers are onboard.
     
  16. following-Him

    following-Him
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    10,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    The computer was 4 1/2 years old. We have chosen another one but have to wait for delivery because we want to have the option of the floppy disc added.

    Thank you once again for your help and input.

    Blessings

    followinghim
     

Share This Page

Loading...