Computer/s-video/tv

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by bobbyd, Oct 25, 2006.

  1. bobbyd

    bobbyd
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a laptop with an S-Video jack, and i'm wondering if i can use that to run power point or other types of media through a TV that has an S-video line in?
    Any clue?
     
  2. James_Newman

    James_Newman
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably, although you would have to verify that with the manufacturer. Sometimes they might have an s-video type connecter that just connects to a regular RCA video input. You might have gotten a cable with the computer for it.
     
  3. SBCPreacher

    SBCPreacher
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    I find that when I do that, I have to be connected to the TV, and it must be on before I boot up. It should work!
     
  4. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    James is correct, some tv's have only rca type jacks. The video quality is not quite what you would want but it does work. Using large lettering works well. For example I took a pic of my 17 inch flat panel showing the start menu and it is readable but that is about all, anything smaller is kind of like being drunk :)

    For pics, backgrounds, and larger fonts it works well enough.

    They make cables that are s-video to rca jacks if you don't have one.

    You have to go into some settings. Depends on your puter, mine I do right click on desktop, properties, display and advanced. At the bottom there are some options for setting it up. Don't be in a hurry when you first plug it in. On mine it takes a bit for the puter to sense something on the end of the line. In fishing you use a bobber, in this you just use a little patience :laugh:

    As to audio, you may or may not be able to. I have not been able to find a cable for my s-video on the puter. It is a seven pin and nobody seems to make it except probably compaq and I need my arms and legs so haven't contacted them.
     
  5. kubel

    kubel
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    It will work, but you will soon discover how lowsy non-HD TV's are when it comes to quality and resolution. :BangHead: Piping to my 25"ish TV from my desktop, even at a resolution of 640x480, it's still very difficult to read smaller font.

    Some notebooks require you to enable external displays with a function key, but I'm not sure if this only applies to DVI/CRT out, or if it also is required for S-Video. Mine is FN + F4. I haven't even used my S-Video on my laptop yet.

    Let us know how it works out for you!
     
  6. MsGuidedAngel

    MsGuidedAngel
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    4
    Woo hoo another New Laptop Congrats hon! S-Video is just for Video, Sound is a different connection.

    My Sony TV that was bought in 1994 has an S-Video input, I use my Sony Progressive DVD Player for this connection. I use connectors from Radio-Shack that are gold plated for better conductivity for my sound connections.

    Both of my 2006 Brand New Computers have an S-Video input and output in them. Computers have come along way since 2000. Some Laptops have TV Video Cards in them, mine does not, but my desktop does with an ATI TV Tuner Card. I could hook my laptop and desktop to my TV, but, I really have no use too do so.

    What year and Manufaturer is your Laptop Computer?

    Gods Blessings, YSIC \o/

    Kristi
    MsGuidedAngel
     
  7. tinytim

    tinytim
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/tim2.jpg>

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done it also, I have 57 inch tv, but the image is horrible
    For the sound, I connected to the headphone jack on my laptop, and used the A/V on the tv.. it works...

    But I think I had to change a setting on my graphics control in order for it to work.
     
  8. El_Guero

    El_Guero
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    0
    make certain you enable that screen saver . . . or you will experience some burn in . . . I would think . . .

    :BangHead:

    Ya' woulda tho't that they woulda fixed all that by now.

    :saint:
     

Share This Page

Loading...