Desktop PC connection problems

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by HeDied4U, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. HeDied4U

    HeDied4U
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'm having some connection issues I'm hoping someone can help me with. I'll try to make as much sense as I can, but I apologize in advance if I ramble.

    In my bedroom / office I have a desktop PC and a netbook (which is what I'm using at the moment). The netbook is connected to a wireless router, while the desktop is connected to the modem, albeit via the router.

    For the last two days I've been unable to connect to the internet with the desktop. The wireless signal is as strong as ever for my netbook, and I'm having no problems with that connection.

    Thinking that something may be wrong with the router, I totally took it out of the equation, and had the connection going directly from the phone jack (I'm using AT&T High Speed DSL) to the modem and then from the modem to the computer. Still no luck. I Keep getting the "Firefox can't find the server at www.whateveriamlookingfor.com. However, the modem must be working since I am getting the wireless signal the with the router and the connection going wall-modem-router-computer.

    I've looked at internet and firewall settings, and as far as I can tell, everything looks to be in order, so basically I'm stumped.

    If anyone has experienced this problem, how did you fix it? Am I missing something when it comes to looking at the settings? I am open to any and all suggestions.

    Many thanks in advance for any hints / tips / advice / suggestions provided.

    Adam :)

    edit: I've also swapped out ethernet cables thinking that that might be the problem, but i still could not connect.
     
    #1 HeDied4U, Nov 10, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 10, 2009
  2. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check Device Manager to see if there is a driver problem with your NIC/LAN port. You may want to go ahead and reinstall the driver for it (download from the manufacturer with the netbook and transfer via a flash drive).

    There is a possibility that the NIC/LAN has died. My mom's computer did this. If that is the case you can buy a PCI NIC for about $25.

    But check Device Manager and reinstall the driver first.
     
  3. HeDied4U

    HeDied4U
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks for the reply Trotter.

    Well, I checked the device manager and it said the driver was functioning properly, but I decided to reinstall the driver anyway, but still no connection.

    If I have to go that route, I am assuming that I could install the PCI NIC you mentioned, and not have a "professional" do it? I'm a little hesitant when it comes to poking around the insides of a computer and I wouldn't want to make things worse.
     
  4. HeDied4U

    HeDied4U
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    10
    Not sure if this means anything or not, but I was looking at the back where the cable plugs into the computer, and the light that's there is green, but every second or two it will flash yellow. Could that be a sign of something wrong?
     
  5. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installing a network card is super simple, so don't sweat it. :D

    The light does mean something. What is the make/model of your computer? I will see what I can find out for you.
     
  6. HeDied4U

    HeDied4U
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's a Compaq Presario, model SR5250NX
     
  7. HeDied4U

    HeDied4U
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    10
    So easy a caveman could do it, right??

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
  8. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, start here. This is the page HP/Compaq has to try to troubleshoot your issue.

    As for drivers, you will find the last released drivers for your LAN chip here.

    Should your LAN socket prove to be dead I can say that, yes, even a caveman could do it. Here is a step-by-step guide... and it even has pictures. ;)
     
  9. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Assume you reset the router and modem and rebooted. Just unplug router and modem for a few seconds. Mine does wild things now and then every thirty days or so.

    Also if the dsl installed any software on your pc, try reinstalling it.
     
  10. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot about rebooting the modem and router. I guess I assumed it had already been done. I know the DSL router I had with AT&T neeed to be rebooted every three weeks.
     
  11. HeDied4U

    HeDied4U
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks again for the reply. I'm at work right now, but I'll run through the troubleshooting pages this evening. I'll try another reinstall of the driver as well.



    Yes, unfortunately I've tried the router and modem reboot twice, with the same results both times...nadda, zip, zilch, zero connection at the desktop.
     
  12. HeDied4U

    HeDied4U
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    10
    Nothing.

    I tried everything listed...all the troubleshooting information, reinstalling the driver and still no working connection.

    I guess my next step is to replace the network card. Hopefully that will fix the problem. Payday isn't until Friday. so I'll have to wait until then to buy one. I'll report back when I get the new one installed. Hopefully I'll be doing it from my desktop abd not my laptop.
     
  13. HeDied4U

    HeDied4U
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    10
    Well, still nothing.

    I borrowed a few bucks from a friend and bought the network card yesterday evening. When I opened up my computer to do the replacement, I got a surprise. The ethernet "jack" (for lack of a better term) seemed to be permanently attached to a circuit board. It certainly wasn't in a slot.

    Well, I decided to install the new card into an open slot anyway. Got it installed, put the tower back together, installed the driver from the CD that came with it and looked forward to surfing away.

    Unfortunately I still have no connection to the internet with the desktop. I clicked on the device manager and it shows that the new card is functioning properly, and the green light lights up on the new card but it still won't connect.

    I decided to call it quits last night before I got really ticked off and did something to make matters worse. Hopefully with the new day will come fresh insights on what to do, besides taking it over to Best Buy and having the Geek Squad check it out that is.
     
  14. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Stabbing in the dark here, have you tried a different jack on your router?

    There is a hard reset for routers that might help???? usually there is a little hole marked reset and you stick a paper clip in and it resets the router. Be forwarned any settings that you have changed or security that you have set up on your wireless will be reset to default settings. If you do this pull the new card out and see if the old jack works. If there is no hole read the book on the router, there may be another method of resetting.

    You may also need to shut off the built in network jack. If you have a book on the computer snoop and see if they tell you how, also you might email the manufactuer and see if they can tell you how to do that. It could be confused as to which jack to function with.

    If all else fails get totally frustrated, smash the computer and pick up a new one - of course this option only if you have a fat billfold :thumbs:
     
  15. HeDied4U

    HeDied4U
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yeah, there's 4 ports in the back of the router for "wired" computers, and I tried every one of them with no success. I even took the wireless router out of the equation, and just had the line running from wall to modem and modem to computer and got nothing.

    I've done the reset on both the modem and the router and that didn't work. And yes, I've "disabled" the original port in the back on the tower, and unfortunately that didn't help either.

    So for now, since money is very tight, I guess I'll connect to the internet with my netbook and if I can scrape up some extra money I'll take the desktop somewhere to have it looked at.

    One thing I've done is to hook my 21" monitor to my notebook for easier viewing. A 21" screen sure beats the heck out of a 10.1" screen any day of the week. :thumbsup:
     
  16. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hope other ideas float in soon, seems to me that you might be down to a motherboard problem but that doesn't make sense with two separate devices.

    There might be a software package that is not installed ????

    Did you try going back to before the problem? In windows you can go back to a previous time, but any new installs will be lost if you do it.

    Start/accessories/system tools/system restore in Vista/XP

    also start/control panel/add remove programs there is a tab for windows software and in there I think there are some items needed.

    If your desktop is near to the router and if you could borrow a wireless card from someone to try, that would be a cheap option. Wireless cards are not very expensive. (I might have one I could give you if that sounds like something you'd like to try. Would have to go dig in the junk pile :) to know for sure)

    If you didn't mention what Operating System you have list it, someone might have a bright idea for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...