Do I have a virus?

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Revmitchell, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,308
    Likes Received:
    784
    When I type it the letter appear slower than I am typing? I have run spybot and adaware and avg. I have cleaned disk.

    Any thoughts
     
    #1 Revmitchell, Feb 20, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 20, 2009
  2. Steven2006

    Steven2006
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried just rebooting it?
     
  3. SBCPreacher

    SBCPreacher
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Could it be downloading or installing updates?

    2. Could it be running a virus scan in the background?

    3. Do you have any unconfessed sins? (You never know!)
     
  4. JamieinNH

    JamieinNH
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know when my AntiVirus program is updating it's definitions, my system will go somewhat slow.

    I used to run AVG and loved them, but after version 8.0 came out I started to see it miss things, so I switched to avast! and have loved that.

    If it continues, try downloading avast! or another virus program and let it scan your system.

    http://www.avast.com/

    Edited to Add: Avast! has pay for versions, but they also have a free home version, which is the one I am running with great success.
    http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html
     
  5. Salty

    Salty
    Expand Collapse
    20,000 Posts Club
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    22,113
    Likes Received:
    219
    I have absolutely no ideal, I'm just trying to up my posts!
     
  6. Jim1999

    Jim1999
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/Jim1999.jpg>

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    15,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    sometimes the internet is moving slower than usual too. I get that sometimes and panic about viruses and all that garbage..reboot by shutting computer off, waiting a few seconds and turning it on again.

    Cheers,

    Jim
     
  7. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,308
    Likes Received:
    784
    Well I still have the problem and I am now getting the blue screen at times.
     
  8. chuck2336

    chuck2336
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    2

    Number 3! Thats funny! :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
     
  9. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,308
    Likes Received:
    784
    I have 2.5 gig of memory on an 8 month old Dell Laptop.

    I have freed up all the memory I can to include getting rid of the many restore points.

    I have run 5 different virus and malware softwares and have come up empty.

    But the reponse time while typing is still slow.


    Any thoughts? I may just reformat.
     
  10. JamieinNH

    JamieinNH
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0

    Two things come to mind to try.. When you open the task manager (clt, alt delete) what is running? anything that stands out as odd? a .exe or .com file? anything under the users log in?

    Second thing, if you do to Start -> Run -> msconfig and look under Startup and Services, do you see anything that is odd? If you see anything that looks funny, uncheck those items and then apply, and close. Reboot and see if it makes a difference.
     
  11. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,308
    Likes Received:
    784


    svchost.exe
    taskmgr.exe
    searchfilterhost.exe
    firefox.exe
    searchprotocolhost.exe
    aawtraay.exe
    ctfmon.exe
    wmiprvse.exe
    alg.exe
    unsecapp.exe
    jqs.exe
    mDNSRespondeer........
    avgemc.exe
    avgupsvc.exe
    avgamsvc.exe
    LEXPPS.EXE
    spoolsy.exe
    LEXBCES.EXE
    AAWService.exe
    BCMWLTRY.EXE
    svchost.exe
    searchfilterhost.exe
    ati2evxx.exe
    sqlwriter.exe
    svchost.exe
    svchost.exe
    svchost.exe
    svchost.exe
    ati2evxx.exe
    searchfilterhost.exe
    lsass.exe
    services.exe
    winlogon.exe
    csrss.exe
    smss.exe
    explorer.exe
    Googleupdate.exe
    sqlsevr.exe
    System
    System Idle Process


    I wouldnt know what would be odd. I have gotten my processes down to around 40 to 42.
     
  12. JamieinNH

    JamieinNH
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Mark,

    In looking at the processes running I would guess that your issues would be in the highlighted items. Not that they are bad like a virus, but that they are bad in the amount of CPU and memory they use.


    searchfilterhost.exe

    searchprotocolhost.exe

    searchfilterhost.exe

    searchfilterhost.exe


    When I googled those items I found many people complaining about how slow their system was and some of them described what you're living through.

    You can selectively stop a process for a test through a configuring program that is build into Windows. Here is a link that will show you the steps to start or stop a process at boot up I would suggest you stop those processes and then reboot and try it out for a few hours and see if it makes a difference.

    http://netsquirrel.com/msconfig/msconfig_vista.html

    Good luck!
     
  13. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,308
    Likes Received:
    784
    I intentionally bought my new computer wit XP. I do not care for Vista. So with 160 gh and 2.37 ram I should not be running slow on XP. Plus I have shut down all start up processes and am running 36 on a regular basis now that I have kicked those processes you pointed out. Still I am running slow when typing. The other day I got a blue screen.

    I also got rid of all the restore points except one.
     
  14. tinytim

    tinytim
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/tim2.jpg>

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rev. I did the same thing... I bought a Dell Vostro.. intentionally with XP on it.. Last April...

    By Sept. or Oct.. it started doing the same thing yours is doing...

    I just wiped it clean, starting over with the disks that came with it.. and voila.. .it works great!!!

    I think something was downloaded from the factory because it wasn't as fast as it is now when it was new....

    I know that is hard to hear..
     
  15. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you decide to wipe the slate and start over, see if you can find someone who has a full version of XP (Home or Pro, whichever you have) and use it insead of the disks that came with your computer. you can use your serial you already have, but you won't get all the "crapware" that came on the computer originally. I do this all the time on the computers I work on and it is completely legit.

    Also, write down the error codes from the blue screen and look them up on Microsft's site. Those codes tell you what went wrong. It could be a serious problem like failing RAM, or it may be an IRQ conflict.

    Scan for spyware. Use Spybot and SUPERAntiSpyware (both are free programs) and both are good.
     
  16. annsni

    annsni
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    20,176
    Likes Received:
    369
    We call that blue screen "the blue screen of death".

    I have no idea what it is - I have a hubby who figures those things out. Sorry but I hope you can find an answer soon!!
     
  17. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,308
    Likes Received:
    784
    I had a quicktime file corrupted. Dell could not even uninstall it. I reformatted. All is well at this point and they are replacing my bad battery. Yea!
     
  18. thomas not doubting

    thomas not doubting
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a link to a site that has guides as to what services can be stopped/disabled:

    http://www.blackviper.com/Articles/OS/OSguides.htm

    I run Windows 2000 (I will never 'downgrade' to XP) and printed out this guide years ago so if I ever have to reinstall, I have a hard copy to refer to.

    I currently have 22 processes running under Win 2K. Each unneeded service that you can stop means your computer will boot a bit quicker, run a little faster and be just a little less vulnerable to an attack.

    Warning: some services are vital to be left running and your computer may be left virtually disabled or almost unbootable if the wrong service is disabled. For example, never NEVER try to turn off 'Remote Procedure Call'!

    Viruses/spyware/trojans usually install themselves using Java, and in the case of Internet "Exploder", Active-X. (Firefox does not have Active-X.) Especially with IE, it is possible to get an infection merely by clicking on a malicious website.

    I only surf the 'net using Firefox (safer than IE) and use the add-on "NoScript" with it. I only have about a dozen sites' in NoScript's 'trusted' database, every other site is 'untrusted'. I turn on all the options in the untrusted settings. That helps to keep any of the baddies from getting downloaded to my computer (along with using a router, much safer than using a software firewall. Anybody who is using cable Internet or DSL needs to be using a router and/or hardware firewall).

    If a website needs java to run, I then can make the choice whether to trust them and allow it to run. On the other hand, if they are an unknown to me site, I usually won't take the risk.
     
    #18 thomas not doubting, Mar 2, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 2, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...