Do you replace your computer...

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by exscentric, Sep 15, 2008.

  1. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    yearly?

    I recently heard on the news that the person that likes his computer replaces it once a year and if he reallllly likes his computer he replaces it more often.

    Do you replace yours yearly or more often?

    My desktop is four years old next month. The laptop I just replaced was five and I didn't replace it due to a need to do so, only that my wife wanted a second one for the living room so I upgraded. (I thought I was going to replace the desktop with it originally but desktop finally got fixed and didn't need to.)

    I'd like a dual core for a desktop but this 3.2 gig does so well, I can't really make a break with it.

    Now if we were rich, yearly might be a temptation, but .....
     
  2. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a computer freak, plain and simple. If I could afford it, I would be constantly upgrading/replacing my computer through various new components. Since I can't affford it, I stay put. I am hoping to build a new rig in the next year or so, but bills and two house payments are keeping that date far, far away.

    My current rig is about three years old. The CPU in it is newer (I upgraded it), as well as the graphics card (twice) and hard drive (added another one).

    My old computer is now my wife's. It's about five years old. I have upgraded the RAM, hard drive, and graphics in it, as well as replacing the CD burner with a DVD burner and adding a second DVD drive, as well as a case fan.
     
  3. kubel

    kubel
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the same boat as Trotter. If I could, I would replace it yearly because I'm a total geek. But since a nice desktop can run at least $800, it's not possible for me to make that kind of investment every year. So I only upgrade certain parts as needed (or when I find a great deal and happen to have some money to spend, which is rare). To make it "feel" like a new computer, I'll restore a fresh backup image every few months. :)

    So as time passes, my computer slowly 'evolves' little by little. I'm not sure what part needs to be upgraded before it's officially considered a 'new' computer. My case, fan, power supply, TV tuner, and one of the hard drives were recycled (they were recent upgrades to my old computer). I haven't made any upgrades for over a year now, except for last month when I added 3x 160GB drives in RAID-5 since I needed reliable file storage.

    I sold my newish laptop in February and bought an Eee PC 701 (broke even, so that I could afford). Now that they have out the new Atom powered 8.9" versions, I'm very tempted to upgrade. But I just can't afford that.

    Why did I have to pick such an expensive hobby? Why can't I collect rocks...
     
  4. mcdirector

    mcdirector
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    8,292
    Likes Received:
    10
    Kubel, I think if your hobby was rocks - that would be expensive too ;)

    NO, not yearly and I use my computer for my part time work as a web designer. I'm fairly geeky. I do buy good ones, but I buy them on sale. I work them hard and love to get three years out of them. Then I'm fascinated at how the new one runs like the wind in comparison! :thumbs:
     
  5. annsni

    annsni
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    20,198
    Likes Received:
    376
    I'm using what was my husband's server for a number of years. It was purchased in 1997 and is currently running Windows 98.

    Nah - I'd love to change mine each DECADE!!!

    I do think that I'm getting a new computer soon - a cast-off from church. He refuses to get a Vista machine so it's the old hand-me-downs for me. He's got a computer graveyard of all of the old computers from church that no longer work and he'll take one from column A and one from column B to make me a Frankencomputer. :D

    Gotta love being married to a tech guy.
     
  6. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    I kind of thought the person was exaggerating somewhat.

    I would if I could as well, but really there is little need to, just like new toys :laugh:

    I did pick up a 701 Kubel, and would love to trade it in for a ten incher but my fingers have finally gotten used to the small keyboard. Still get a mess on the right hand little finger, those keys are just too small :laugh:

    I use it near daily and just love it.
     
  7. Deacon

    Deacon
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6,973
    Likes Received:
    129
    With a couple kids in college I got to purchase new computers three times in the past four years... but I don't get to use them :tear:

    Mine's about 4 years old, it's showing it's age but I'm not really pleased with upgrading (downgrading?) to MSVista so I'm hanging on to this one until it dies.

    The only program that stresses it a bit is my Bible program (Libronix) which can be slooow--oww during searches.
    A new CPU and more RAM sure wouldn't hurt

    I'll probably go with a laptop when it happens.
    Everythings backed up for the inevitable... learned the hard way more than once.

    Rob
     
  8. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    My wife went with a laptop for her main and I was going to when the old beast finally started working (Video card was bad very intermittently)

    I use two tv cards, one for tv and another for security cameras so going laptop will cut one of those since as of now you can't run two usb tv cards at the same time but could work around that.

    Our daughter has two in college and one about to be and they have been buy computers every time they turn around.

    I had to go through that years ago, but I gave our kids commodore 64s which was a whole lot cheaper :laugh: even if they were top of the line.
     
  9. Deacon

    Deacon
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6,973
    Likes Received:
    129
    I started a bit later, the most expensive computer I ever purchased was my first!
    It was a Quantis; running a whopping 133 MHZ
    and perhaps 66 RAM (I can't really remember though).
    Cost me about $2300 at the time.
    I still have it in the garage somewhere, probably a mouse's house. :laugh:
    I upgraded a few things; I think it has Windows Millenium on it (but Windows Melanoma would have been a more appropriate name).

    Rob
     
  10. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    133 mhz....... oh how sloooooow. I teach a computer class for low income folks and one of them is having trouble. I met her to see if I could help with a problem. She has 400 dell and I thought I was going to have to take a nap before it finally booted. :laugh:

    I had a few of those pre 200 and thought I had the world by the tail!
     
  11. menageriekeeper

    menageriekeeper
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,152
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL! My dh, who is a computer guy, and I had the "how old are our computers anyway" discussion just the other day.

    It came about because I dared to rearrange all the computer equipment and move it to a bigger table, so I could in turn rearrange all my sewing equipment. :D

    He accused me of killing his machine. The same machine he'd been telling me for some time was on it's last leg. :rolleyes: Turned out he had simply burned up the video card. I told him he had but of course "I" couldn't be right and "I" shouldn't have moved the computers and he wouldn't have the problem.

    Anyhow, I was right and the computer that had been making noise for weeks is now quietly humming away in it's new spot on the bigger computer table that holds most of the computer equipment......

    And we decided that his computer is at least 5 years old, mine is older than that, my daughter's laptop is around the same age, and my son's old desktop has to be at least 4 years old. The newest computer in the house is son's new laptop ($400 Acer from Wally world that son earned the money for) that DH spent hours ripping vista off of and installing XP. He's not a vista fan....

    I'm not thinking that new computers are anywhere near the priority list for this house anytime in the near future.
     
  12. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    USURPING A COMPUTERS AREA FOR SEWING - outrageous!!!!!

    :laugh:

    You can't just move an old computer, all that dust rearranges and messes things up don't you know :laugh:
     
  13. menageriekeeper

    menageriekeeper
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,152
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL! Evidently! :laugh:
     
  14. Samuel Owen

    Samuel Owen
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put all mine together, one piece at a time like Johnny Cashes Cadillac. I currently am running a AMD 1.3 gig machine, with a total of 6 drives in it. 2 burners, 2 hard drives, a zip drive, and of course the old standard A drive. With about 12 combined USB ports, I run a lot of junk outside of the box. Oh yeah by the way all that is in an old Gateway case, I really don't know how old it is, but it was an old pentium ll - 350. :)

    Its about 6 years old now, and I have no plans to replace it soon. The old saying goes "if it aint broke, don't fix it".
     
  15. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sheesh....I ain't alone!!
    Sorry..but I just got a newer computer & still ain't happy. This one is handbuilt, 1.7 processor...but only 256 ram. But it holds it's own...don't have to worry about melting a video card!
    My old,(still have it) was a dell, about 97 or 98, with 450 cpu, but at least I had it up to 320 on ram. 16 mb video, with win2000 pro. Still works great!
    Also have an older IBM laptop I just installed Linux on. 650 with 128 ram...works fine!
    My dream...to have a computer like on the Enterprise!!
     
  16. Samuel Owen

    Samuel Owen
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well the very next day after I said, "if it ain't broke dont fix it". Mine got a virus from Torment, and went kerplunk.

    But its fixed now, and still trucking.

    There's a little more ram in this one than 256 mb, 768 to be exact, and that's its limit unfortunately. The video card is 64 megs. And I just spent another $32 on a five port usb 2.0 pci card, so I plan on it staying around maybe another 5 years or so. That is if the Lord does not come first. :)
     
    #16 Samuel Owen, Sep 26, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 26, 2008
  17. Carolina Baptist

    Carolina Baptist
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    1
    I get a new computer when the last one dies.

    About a year ago I bought a new laptop because I had to go back to school and the old machine wouldn't handle the needed programs.

    It came with Vista :BangHead: . I still couldn't run the needed programs. I was going to get XP for it and I found that there were no drivers for some of the hardware writen for Vista. For several months I had a usless machine.
     
  18. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Oh haven't you heard, just call Vista Mohave and all will be okay and you will love it and it will work so nicely NOT!

    Have you seen their new add introducing Mohave to the customers only it is really vista and they are all uuuuing and aaaaaaaing over it - Ya Right!

    If you haven't seen it this is the website that is trying to sell Vista as a good system :thumbs:

    http://www.mohaveexperiment.com/?fbid=12A4z590tW6

    Actually have anew laptop with it and when a puter is designed for it things work a lot better.
     

Share This Page

Loading...