DSL ?

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by just-want-peace, Dec 23, 2004.

  1. just-want-peace

    just-want-peace
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    40
    Please tell a computer illiterate if it's dangerous to leave the computer on with an active DSL connection?

    I have been turning off my modem when I'm not on-line; am I spittin' in the wind?

    Basically my question is, can I get unauthorized connections, IE viruses, hackers etc, if my modem & computer are on, BUT not connected to a web site ?

    Thanks for any expert guidance! [​IMG]
     
  2. rsr

    rsr
    Expand Collapse
    <b> 7,000 posts club</b>
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,073
    Likes Received:
    101
    Not necessarily dangerous (we pretty much have ours on 24/7) but you need to make sure you have a good firewall (hardware or software or both) in place; but that's good advice anyway.
     
  3. NaasPreacher (C4K)

    NaasPreacher (C4K)
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    78
    I agree - I leave mine on all the time, but also have a firewall always running. There is an excellent free firewall called Zone Alarm which has caught everything that has tried to get in.

    Plus - use another browser for extra protection.
     
  4. SpiritualMadMan

    SpiritualMadMan
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have trouble with Zone Alarm you can also try Sygate Personal Firewall... (I couldn't get Zone Alarm to work on my DSL, Switch, and WinXP combination.)

    I, too, shut down my DSL Modem, and all computers when we are not home or going to bed...

    Part of it is the 'exposure' of being 'on' continuously gives hackers time to scan and find you... (Something that is greatly reduced if you have a Firewall)

    But, we also live in a rural area and the house has poor grounding and lightning protection.

    If it doesn't take that long to log-on it won't hurt anything to shut down when you are not 'active'.
     
  5. TC

    TC
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,225
    Likes Received:
    10
    Firewalls are good for the most part, but they do have limitations. Also, firewalls are targets to attacks themselves - people like to see if they can beat em.

    I turn mine off when not using it. I don't keep any personal information on the computer and I don't do internet shopping/banking ect.
     
  6. Johnv

    Johnv
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,321
    Likes Received:
    0

    Generally, no. If you've got a firewall, you're in the clear.

    You CAN, if you've downloaded something you unsuspectingly weren't supposed to. I suggest installing a copy fo ad-aware (which removes data miners), and a copy of AVG antivirus on you computer. Both are freeware, easy to use, and are updatable. Run them every few days for a virtually clear machine.
     
  7. NaasPreacher (C4K)

    NaasPreacher (C4K)
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    78
    can you run ad aware with Zone Alarm and AVG?
     
  8. Johnv

    Johnv
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see why not.
     
  9. UTEOTW

    UTEOTW
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    "can you run ad aware with Zone Alarm and AVG?"

    I run Spybot Seach and Destroy to protect against the ads and spyware, Zone Alarm, and Norton's antivirus at the same time. A little different than what you are asking. Ad Aware seemed to let some things through that Spybot stops. Both together seems to do the trick. Norton's is not free, though. Each protects something a little different and they all seem to get along. My wife also uses the same combination.

    Now if I will ever get aroung to downloading Firefox...
     
  10. NaasPreacher (C4K)

    NaasPreacher (C4K)
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    78
    If you ever get around to that you will love it [​IMG]
     
  11. NaasPreacher (C4K)

    NaasPreacher (C4K)
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    78
    Just downloaded and ran ad-aware. Over 200 files were removed!!
     
  12. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    C4K,

    Download Spybot as well. UTEOTW is right (I cannot believe that I just wrote that). Using both is a sure thing. Plus, both are free.

    Redundancy is a good thing.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  13. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got DSL. We put the computer in Standby when we're not on it, and activate the internet lock when we are using the computer w/o internet (playing games, doing the budget).

    Now if I could only get our teenage daughter to follow the program...

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  14. NaasPreacher (C4K)

    NaasPreacher (C4K)
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    78
    Thanks for all the advice, spybot found and removed ANOTHER 93 "problems." My guess is that these came from my dial-up days when I did not run a firewall?
     
  15. superdave

    superdave
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2000
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your DSL modem is also a router, it may have a NAT or SPI firewall on it. Or you may be able to get a hardware router and run your network through that. That is the most effective way, since no outside entities should be able to even see your system from the internet, they only see the router.

    I use a Linksys wireless router with a firewall in it. I also run Symantec Firewall on my windows machines. And my UNIX machines are hardened, but who cares right? If you are on DSL, you should have at least a software firewall, preferably both a hardware and software firewall.
     
  16. Dale

    Dale
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only use a software firewall most of the time (on my Mac) Of course spyware viruses etc aren't a problem for Macs at this time. I would suggest using Firefox of something else besids IE though. Forget the fact that it is more secure, it is a pleasure to use (unlike IE)
     
  17. trailblazer

    trailblazer
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG] I have AOL 9.0 which has the AOL Spyware Protection and AOL Privacy wall. I also have McAfee Virus Scan.

    I'm not very computer literate - is this sufficient if I leave my computer on 24/7, :confused:
     
  18. SpiritualMadMan

    SpiritualMadMan
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will refrain from making my feelings about aol public...

    Suffice it to say the only real protection you have is the non-aol McAffe you are running...
     
  19. dianetavegia

    dianetavegia
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    My husband signed up for the FREE AOL trial when he got his laptop and canceled it the first day because he disliked it. A few months later, he discovered they'd been taking money from our bank account each month. It took a LOT of paperwork to cancel them.
     
  20. trailblazer

    trailblazer
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D I know what you mean about AOL - Last year AOL closed our account because they got us mixed up with a newly deceased relative and declared us dead also! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...