1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Fundamental Hypocrites

Discussion in '2005 Archive' started by csmith, Mar 10, 2005.

1. csmith

csmith New Member

I am an Independent Fundamental Baptist Pastor (don't throw any tomatos).

I have been in enough of the IFB circles long enough to know that we have been guilty of establishing our own righteousness. We have made rules that are not Biblically mandated, yet we enforce them in our churches.

I don't think it hurts to be introspective and honest about this problem. I also welcome non IFB to point out different failures you have noticed (whether they be practiced by IFB, SB, MB or otherwise).

Here is one: (do you know any?)

"It is a sin to go to the beach!"

2. Britney

Britney New Member

well csmith I am a IFB but its not a sin to go to the beach. But to be around all of the immodesty that would be there would probably make you think of ungodly things and it would probably be adultery, and that my friend is a sin.

3. NaasPreacher (C4K)

NaasPreacher (C4K) Well-Known Member

I agree Brtiney. It is dangerus at best to go anyplace where you know people will be immodestly dressed.

4. csmith

csmith New Member

See! Here is our very problem. We as IFB categorize sin in with many "neutral" things. Of course it is wrong to submit yourself to immodesty, but submitting yourself to immodesty is not the same as going to the beach.

That would be the same as saying, "Women who wear pants are sinning because they are tight and could cause men to lust after them."

We have been guilty of assuming that an activity is sinful based on what it "could" become.