has anyone ever heard of Southern Baptist School for Biblical Studies in Jacksonville

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges / Seminaries' started by cbailey, Jan 17, 2005.

1. cbailey

cbailey
    Expand Collapse

I am looking to get opinions on the Southern Baptist School for Biblical Studies in Jacksonville, Fla. What is your experience with the school? I am a bivocational assoc pastor. and am looking for an affordable program that will sharpen my skills. I was interested in their D.Min program. ANy thoughts would be appreciated.

2. Broadus

Broadus
    Expand Collapse

It was started a couple of decades ago by Charles Williams, a one-time administrator at Luther Rice Seminary, who had, according to my recollection, something of a falling out with LRS.

Its web site ( http://www.southernbaptistschool.com/ ) is a bit sparse in information. The school is not accredited, at least not by a legitimate accrediting agency.

Quite frankly, I would look elsewhere. I realize some Baptist pastors of rather large churches have received their DMin from SBSBS. That, in itself, does not necessarily give the school credibility. This is not to question the sincerity or motives of those associated with SBSBS.

Why not look into Luther Rice Seminary ( www.lrs.edu ). It offers an accredited DMin that should accomplish what you want.

Bill

3. cbailey

cbailey
    Expand Collapse

I am bivocational and am also an educator. I am working on a doctorate in leadership, policy and law from a state university. I was looking for a distance learning school that was very flexible and very affordable so I can continue to pursue the doctorate from the state school as well. I looked at three schools:
    Trinity-too expensive
    Andersonville-looks good for a bivo. pastor
    Southern Baptist School-?

4. Broadus

Broadus
    Expand Collapse

Is the "Trinity" Trinity Theological Seminary or Trinity Evangelical Divinity School?