.htm help desired...

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by exscentric, Nov 24, 2006.

  1. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have some .pdf files that I want to put on my site.

    In front page I create the link to the file, but when I load the page in a browser and click on the link (to the .pdf file) I get a white screen.

    What do I need to do to get it to load the .pdf?

    Is there a trick to doing a .doc file in the same manner?

    Just found out in explorer when I click on the link it asks if I want to open or save.

    In firefox is where I was getting the blank screen.
     
    #1 exscentric, Nov 24, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 24, 2006
  2. David Michael Harris

    David Michael Harris
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well make sure you have Acrobat installed to begin with, .pdf needs to find the program it is associated with.

    Also make sure the file has read permissions (chmod 644 should be ok) you can change them with your ftp client.

    Try this one...

    http://www.baruchhaba.net/docs/qumran_bruce.pdf

    David
     
  3. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    I haven't uploaded them, just testing them on my machine before I do.

    Your link draws a blank page in firefox as well. In explorer your link gives me option of open or save.

    Things must be working, just fire fox not set up correctly.

    I have been surfing and click on a pdf file and it opens adobe reader in the browser window and presents the pdf file inside the browser window. This was what I would like to accomplish.

    Must be settings in browser or adobe, will snoop further.

    thanks.
     
  4. David Michael Harris

    David Michael Harris
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    1
    With my link in IE try to open it and see what happens, it might configure things for you.

    Have fun!

    Googled this...

    http://www.bnl.gov/itd/webapps/pdf_help.asp

    David
     
    #4 David Michael Harris, Nov 24, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 24, 2006
  5. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    I opened your link in explorer and it opened an adobe window separate from the browser.

    It should work okay the way it is, I will just add a note to the page that they might have to right click on the link and ask to open it.
     
  6. David Michael Harris

    David Michael Harris
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did that years ago, there is an answer, I just can not remember the solution at the moment.

    Upload one and post a link! It will come back to me.

    David
     
  7. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
  8. Don

    Don
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    10,545
    Likes Received:
    208
    Ex, you said you haven't uploaded the documents yet?

    Are the links pointing to a http address, or to the files on your hard drive?

    If you haven't uploaded them to the http address, and the link is looking for the http address, that might be the cause of the blank page.

    Watch out for the .doc extensions; depending on what version of Word, some folks might not be able to open them.
     
  9. Don

    Don
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    10,545
    Likes Received:
    208
    Okay, opened Part 5 just fine.

    Are you sure you have the PDF extension in FireFox loaded?
     
  10. David Michael Harris

    David Michael Harris
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    1
    Worked perfect for me, it took about 2 or 3 seconds to load in the browser.

    Hey, if you have a slow connection and a large file it may take a while to load and in the mean time will show a white page, look to see if your browser is downloading the data before displaying it.


    Don't worry, it works fine. :)

    David
     
  11. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    You asked me to upload some so I did one before posting the link. I can type in the file path on the server and all I get is a white page and it says "Done"

    I'm sure it is my browser set up the more I've thought about it. Will crank up the laptop later and see what it does.

    thanks much.
     
  12. kubel

    kubel
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ya, it works fine on my laptop also, will try reinstall of adobe - sounds like a plan.

    Thanks all!

    By the way they are 1meg or so files - I just hate it when people put that big a file on :laugh: I'm still on dial-up myself cept when I get to Burger King :smilewinkgrin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...