1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

I need help

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by jlee12489, Jul 29, 2005.

1. jlee12489

jlee12489 New Member

Hi. I'm in high school and i plan on entering full-time ministry for the Lord. But i'm new at all this .. Bible college stuff.

What should i do? Should i go to a secular college first then go to a seminary/college?
    What kind of colleges are good for undergrad and grad?

2. TaterTot

TaterTot Guest

I struggled with the same issues and for me, the answer was to go to a regular college, get a regualr degree, then head to a solid seminary for further study. It may depend on what area, if any, you feel led toward.

3. UZThD

UZThD New Member

I'd go to an accredited Bible College.

4. PastorSBC1303

PastorSBC1303 Active Member

I attended a secular university for my Bachelor's degree. I did so with the counsel of my pastor at the time. He said the secular school would prepare me just as well for seminary and also give me experiences and relationships with people in the real world that would help me throughout my ministry. I think he was right on the mark and I am thankful I listened to his advice.

But he also warned me that to go through a secular university I would face some of the biggest challenges and tests to my faith that I had ever encountered, and he was right there. If you choose to go the secular route, be committed to staying strong spiritually, and not allowing anyone to rock your faith or trust in God. But see it as time of sharpening where the Lord is preparing you for what is to come in your ministry.

5. TexasSky

TexasSky Guest