1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

i need to ask a question

Discussion in '2003 Archive' started by norma-jeane, Dec 8, 2003.

1. norma-jeane

norma-jeane New Member

I'm new to the baptistboard, in fact I'm not a baptist at all, but I have a question I'd like to ask and if anybody could answer I'd really appreciate it.Recentey my sister commited suicide, my parents are Catholic but my mother's parents are Baptist and they didn't come to the funeral service. My mum said it was because they lived too far away but I was wondering if perhaps it was a religious thing, I know that it was looked on as a sin in Catholic Churches a while ago and I thought this may have been the reason they didn't show?

2. BrianT

BrianT New Member

Hi Norma-Jeane (I love your name, BTW!) [​IMG]

I'm so sorry for your loss. :( [​IMG]

It is too hard for any of us to say why your grandparents didn't come, but I suspect your mother is correct that distance was the reason. I don't know of any "religious" reason why a Baptist would not go to the funeral of a Catholic family member who committed suicide. Maybe you should write them a letter and simply ask them - they are probably hurting deeply over the whole thing, and would love to talk to you about it.

God bless,
    Brian

3. Ulsterman

Ulsterman New Member

Hello Norma Jeanne,

I am a Baptist Pastor who has ministered in the Rep. of Ireland, where as you know 96% of the people are Roman Catholic. Whilst living there I attended several Roman Catholic funerals to pay respects to the diseased and sympathise with the family. In June of this year I attended the funeral of a young man who committed suicide.