1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Information applied to biology

Discussion in 'Creation vs. Evolution' started by Administrator2, Jan 18, 2002.

1. Administrator2

Administrator2 New Member

[Administrator: the following is a combination of two threads, one after the other, dealing with information in biological systems. The second thread starts on the second page.]

GARPIER
    This is an honest question in which I am only looking for a simple answer. Is it true that when a mutation occurs that there is a loss on genetic information?

DAVEW
    I'm no expert, but the short answer is, not necessarily.

A point mutation involves one genetic "letter" being changed to another. No net loss of information, but if that "letter" was part of a "word" that is now nonsense, you could say information is lost (conversely, if a point mutation transforms a bit of nonsense into a word, information is arguably gained).

A deletion involves (duh) genetic material being removed and not replaced. Again, this would seem to involve a loss of information, but possibly the deletion makes sense out of nonsense.

I'm pretty sure that there are cases of additions, where extra stuff gets added. Again, this is an increase in genetic material, but not necessarily in "information."

There are other forms of mutations (frameshift mutations, etc.) that basically scramble the information around without adding material.