1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

is industrial hemp different from marijauna?

Discussion in 'Political Debate & Discussion' started by UnchartedSpirit, Jan 21, 2006.

1. UnchartedSpirit

UnchartedSpirit New Member

And could it be used as an alternative for marijuana users to treat disease symptoms?

2. DeeJay

DeeJay New Member

It is my understanding that hemp is the stem and bark of the marijuana plant and has no THC. Hemp is used to make all sorts of stuff like rope, clothing, braceletts for pot heads [​IMG] .

I think only the leafs and seeds have THC the chemical that makes it a drug. I could be wrong as I have no direct experience.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hemp

3. Bunyon

Bunyon New Member

Are you thinking about smoking a piece of rope or something? :D

4. poncho

poncho Well-Known Member

The reemergence of hemp is slowly but steadily progressing within the United States. Due to the similar leaf shape, hemp is frequently confused with marijuana. Although both plants are from the species cannabis sativa, hemp contains virtually no THC (delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol) (less than .3%), the active ingredient in marijuana. Industrial hemp has no illicit uses, it is the equivalent of non-alcoholic beer.

The most commonly seen modern hemp product is clothing. Hemp clothing is warmer, softer, more absorbent, extremely breathable and significantly longer lasting than clothing made from cotton. It is nice to have clothing that looks like linen, feels like flannel, and wears two to three times longer than other fabrics, but this is just the beginning.