Joomla Mail Issues

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by mnw, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. mnw

    mnw
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello one and all. For some reason I have never been able to get the mail function on one of my joomla sites to work. It is for the purpose of registration to use the forum and add general content. I have the general configuration settings almost identical to another joomla site I have where the php mail functions works fine. So, all I can guess is that the problem lies with my joomla install.

    Any one available to give some advice?
     
  2. Don

    Don
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    10,549
    Likes Received:
    212
    Strangely enough, I had the same problem. Things worked fine; I tweaked some settings, and mail (and some other components) stopped working.

    I ended up re-installing Joomla, and everything's hunky-dory.
     
  3. kubel

    kubel
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is your sendmail path correct?
     
  4. mnw

    mnw
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know how to use the sendmail, even though I did give it a try. The PHP settings work fine on the other Joomla site I have.

    Even though they are with the same host the sites seem to be using different versions of PHP which I don't understand.

    It seems from the Joomla forum this is a common problem. Is it possible to re-install Joomla without losing everything? Would I just upload fresh Joomla files and overwrite everything?
     
  5. Don

    Don
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    10,549
    Likes Received:
    212
    Yes, it is; the "glitch" is that in your administrator's window, you have the tabs on the section to the right? You'll have two of each.
     
  6. kubel

    kubel
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your other account is probably on another server.

    I would backup my joomla directory and database (or just download a backup from your control panel), and then try deleting and reinstalling (using a different database). Then once installation is complete, go into configuration.php and manually change the database, user, and password. And if anything goes wrong, just restore your backup and try again.

    Good luck!
     
  7. mnw

    mnw
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think for the time I will just live with the inconvinience. I don't especially need people to register, it would have just been a nice extra.

    I have a backup component installed, but I am nervous of it going wrong so I'll leave it until I change host in the near future. Eventually I'll need to make the change, so I'll wait until then. :)

    Maybe the next update will let it fix itself...

    Thanks for the input guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...