1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

KJV for academic study (long)

Discussion in 'Bible Versions & Translations' started by Heel4Christ, Jan 17, 2007.

1. Heel4Christ

Heel4Christ New Member

Hello I am a student at UNC-Chapel Hill. This is my last semester, and I picked up a course for fun to learn about what the world thinks of Jesus. The course is called "Jesus: History, Tradition and Myth." Obviously the Bible is required text for the class, but in the required text section it says: "Most other versions, however, are not
    appropriate for academic study (including the KJV, Good News Bible, and Living
    Bible)."

I asked her why the KJV was inappropriate for academic study and here is what she said: