1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Looking for a college

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by jstrickland1989, Dec 16, 2005.

1. jstrickland1989

jstrickland1989 New Member

I'm a sophomore and I know it's early, but what are some colleges you think are a good choice?

2. PastorSBC1303

PastorSBC1303 Active Member

3. Rhetorician

Rhetorician Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    JS1989,

I see you are from the midwest. One of the closer colleges, which is outlandishly expensive as they all are today, is Wheaton outside of Chicago.

Another is Union University in Jackson, TN. It is being called the "Wheaton of the South" and the "Wheaton of the SBC." My daughter graduated there in 2001 w/a degree in teacher education.

The Southern Baptist Seminary in Louisville, KY flew profs to the UU campus on Mondays (may still). Many of us SBC "hands" worked on our MDiv degrees that way. I did about 1/3 of my MDiv on campus there so I have spent much time on campus between the two experiences. It is a great school, I consider myself to be their #1 supporter in the category of those who are not alumni.

Both are good choices for a Liberal Arts Christian education from a Christian World View. Both religion departments are outstanding and have good world class faculty who are scholars.

My assumption is that you may be wanting a religion and/or Bible education b/c you are on the BB inquiring?

There is a third choice, Samford in Birmingham,AL.

All three also have great other departments in the Liberal Arts as well as Teacher Education et al.

I will be glad to talk to you via PM or email at length.

I hope this helps.

sdg!

rd

4. Squire Robertsson

Squire Robertsson Administrator