Was watching the Blue Jays vs. Rangers last night and noticed that Jays pitcher Marco Estrada seemingly throws an illegal pitch every time he throws a pitch without a runner on base. Estrada starts in the windup position--both feet on the rubber toes pointed towards home plate, glove being held in front of his chest, pitching hand holding ball inside glove. But then, without taking his foot off the rubber, he shifts and goes into the set position--pivot foot touching the rubber, other foot in front of the rubber, arms hanging at side, then arms come together with ball held near chest--and delivers the pitch. In other words, he starts in the windup position and he shifts to the set position, and this is crucial--without removing his pivot foot from the rubber. This is an illegal pitch because it is an attempt at deception by the pitcher. It's not a balk because no runner is on base. The rule, 5.07.8.01(a) and (b) is quite clear: The Windup Position The pitcher shall stand facing the batter, his pivot foot in con- tact with the pitcher’s plate and the other foot free. From this position any natural movement associated with his delivery of the ball to the batter commits him to the pitch without interruption or alteration. He shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in his actual delivery of the ball to the batter, he may take one step backward, and one step forward with his free foot. The Set Position Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when he stands facing the batter with his pivot foot in contact with, and his other foot in front of, the pitcher’s plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of his body and coming to a complete stop. Preparatory to coming to a set position, the pitcher shall have one hand on his side; from this position he shall go to his set position.