1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Mark Richt

Discussion in 'Sports Forum' started by North Carolina Tentmaker, Oct 4, 2010.

1. North Carolina Tentmaker

As a Georgia Tech graduate I will admit a great personal bias against the University of Georgia and their sports teams. Every good Tech man’s favorite teams are Georgia Tech and whoever plays Georgia on any given week.

With that being said, for the last 10 years Mark Richt has been a man I would have loved to hate, but just couldn’t. Not only did I have to deal with the Christian idea of hate being a bad thing, Richt was such a nice guy. An outstanding Christian, open and sharing with his faith, telling everyone he tries to live by his life verse of Col 3:23. He has his kids in Christian school, is active in his church, overall Richt is just a great guy.

But I have seen a change in Richt over the last few years that is disturbing. While as a Tech man I welcome the fall of Georgia football this is still sad to see. It goes back to the 2006 loss to Tennessee. (here’s to you Tom) After losing to Tennessee, Vanderbuilt, and Kentucky in 2006 Richt made a noticeable change in his recruiting. Starting with his 2007 class it looked clear to me that Richt had adjusted his recruiting goals based on athletic ability alone sacrificing the personal character of his prospects.