Monitors and laptops

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by tinytim, Mar 19, 2007.

  1. tinytim

    tinytim
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/tim2.jpg>

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to hook a monitor to my laptop, so that some one sitting across the table from me, can see the screen as well?

    I am using Windows XP.
    What settings do I need to change?
     
  2. James_Newman

    James_Newman
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    It really depends on the video chipset in your laptop and the drivers. I have seen laptops with the ability to present dual (mirrored) display like that, but many probably only support one at a time.
     
  3. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    If there is a jack on the back of the laptop for the extra monitor it will do a dual display. You can use either monitor alone or both at the same time. If you need settings they are at Right click on the desktop/properties/settings/advanced/and I think it is the adapter or monitor tab toward the bottom there will be set up options. Some laptops have a selection option with the F keys to switch between the three modes. If you have an s video jack you can use a tv but the quality is much lesser than a monitor but useable for most things.

    If using the svideo, you need the tv plugged in when you boot on mine - don't know about others.
     
  4. rbell

    rbell
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    11,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    or for about $100, you can get a scan converter.

    This would allow you an extra monitor jack (essentially a "through" jack on your monitor output), and ability to output video to S-video, or RCA video, or RGB video.

    I use our scan converter constantly. It's a useful tool.
     
  5. tinytim

    tinytim
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/tim2.jpg>

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have connected the TV up and did the dual thing one time, but I forgot how I did it.
     
  6. 4His_glory

    4His_glory
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should just be able to hook up your laptop through a standard vga cable to a monitor and then there should be a function key on the top of your keyboard to send the signal through to the monitor.

    I have used this frequently with my LCD projector to do PowerPoint presentations.
     
  7. rbell

    rbell
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    11,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    I regret the duplicitous nature of this unfortunate and accidental statement. I hereby repent in sackcloth & ashes.

    (that's churchese for "duplicate post")
     
    #7 rbell, Mar 19, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2007
  8. rbell

    rbell
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    11,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Function + F8, I believe.

    it may have "LCD/CRT" in blue over the F8 (or whichever) key.
     
  9. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Which f key differs. My current one has one button with a screen shape on it - F5 while an older one had two F keys higher up with different symbols.
     
  10. tinytim

    tinytim
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/tim2.jpg>

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, but I figured it out..
    On my video options, I can choose a clone monitor...
    That works just fine.

    Thanks again.
     
  11. Dale-c

    Dale-c
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which is what you want. You can either clone or use an extended desktop.
    In extended mode(not what you want here though) is expands your desktop space between both monitors.
     
  12. tinytim

    tinytim
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/tim2.jpg>

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was playing around in the extended option... Man that is coool.
     

Share This Page

Loading...