1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

My First Published Book: Into the Tempest

Discussion in 'Books & Publications Forum' started by Loopie, Oct 30, 2015.

1. Loopie

Loopie New Member

Hi Everyone!

I would like to announce that I just recently published my first book (and hopefully not my last), titled Into the Tempest. The book is a Christian fiction novel that I have been working on for about two years now. Personally, I never thought I would write a fiction novel, and in fact my intention was to focus on writing non-fiction books that address theological topics. I still plan on doing that at some point, but for now I began my writing career with fiction.

My motivation for writing the book came from my studies of the Soviet Union, particularly in its persecution of Christians. I considered some of the parallels between the Soviet system and what seems to be the direction of the United States (such as the demand for absolute separation of church and state). The book itself is set in the near-future, where it is illegal for minors to be exposed to religious instruction due to it being viewed as a form of abuse. It is within this environment that we follow three characters who each come from different walks of life and hold to different worldviews, but who are ultimately changed as their paths cross.