1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

New Pastors who "Clean House" of Staff

Discussion in '2006 Archive' started by scubablt, Feb 7, 2006.

1. scubablt

scubablt New Member

Hello fellow Baptists and Believers,

~ I am a pastor of a Baptist church in South Texas. I have a close friend who is the full-time Minister of Music & Sr. Adults in a church in N.E. Texas. Well, his pastor just resigned to go to another ministry postion. After he left, he and the other three full-time staff members got toghether and talked about the possibility of the church's Pastor Search Committee calling a new pastor who would want to come in and "clean house," which means he would want, expect, require, and ask all the current staff members to resign or leave the church within a certain amount of time. For example, he might tell them all they had six months to leave, so he could bring his own men and staff into the church to serve with him! You know, kind of like the USA Presidnet appointing his own Cabinet members.

~ Since one of the staff members had been thru this before, they actually talked to the Deacon Chairman about it, and he did not think that should ever happen at their church. The Deacon body even went so far as to vote 100% to let the Search Committee know they did NOT want them to consider calling any pastor who would "clean house."

They felt like God called all the staff there, and it should NOT be the pastor to make them leave. That decision should be up to God.

** That leads me to ask the following questions I would love for you to comment on:

1) Is it moral, ethical, or theologically acceptable for a new pastor to come in to a new church and "clean house?"