1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

No Christmas song

Discussion in 'Music Ministry' started by steveo, Dec 16, 2005.

1. steveo

steveo New Member

I am a pastor who plays guitar and played professionally for many years before becoming a christian so my daughter asked me to play for her music class.
    So her music teacher asked me to come, so I told her I could lead the kids in songs like Jingle bells, We wish you a Merry Christmas, & Silent Night.
    She said that she would rather not do Silent Night because it might offend someone.
    I was speechless since I always heard this kind of nonsense but thought this wouldn't be going on at our public school. Give me a break.

2. cojosh

cojosh New Member

Who would have ever thought that Silent Night would offend someone? :confused:

3. steveo

steveo New Member

No matter what someone will be offended.
    If we started a religion that says we don't believe in fictional characters would they stop singing about rudolph and frosty.
    Gee wiz
    I'm praying about what I should do since my daughter is looking forward to me playing my guitar. I thought about just doing a show and tell and not playing any christmas songs but just tell the kids about guitars.

4. Johnv

Johnv New Member

The teacher is overreacting. There's nothing forbidding the playing of traditional carols in the public school. That fact has been tried and tested in courts many times.

In fact, my 15yo daughter, who is in her public school band, recently performed for their annual school christmas concert. There were sacred carols galore. BTW, her school handbell choir played "Silent Night". Again, this was a public school.

5. PastorSBC1303

PastorSBC1303 Active Member