Perl scripts

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Bro Ben, Sep 27, 2002.

  1. Bro Ben

    Bro Ben
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is anyone here gifted in Perl scripts?
     
  2. jcrowe

    jcrowe
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've gotten a perl book for a gift, but never a perl script. [​IMG]

    Whatcha need?
     
  3. Bro Ben

    Bro Ben
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just need a perl script that i have installed on my website. I have the script but am having problems installing it.
     
  4. eric_b

    eric_b
    Expand Collapse
    <img src="http://home.nc.rr.com/robotplot/tiny_eri

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will need to know the location of your web host's perl executable... do you have this information?

    Eric
     
  5. Bro Ben

    Bro Ben
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have that. This is the error I get when I try to run the script.

    Internal Server Error
    The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
     
  6. jasonW*

    jasonW*
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bro Ben:

    This simply means the script is not running properly (which you knew), for one of the following reasons:

    1. Error in code
    2. Server misconfiguration

    I am guessing 1. Perl is great, and at the same time, annoying. Do you have the 'strict' qualifier on? If you do, you must predeclare all variables (I.e. my $var1;) before using it.

    Also, you can run the perl script from the command line before you install it on the server. Simply change the mode of the script to executable (chmod +x script.pl) and execute it (./script.pl). This should help in debugging.

    If you want to post some of the code, we can take a look at it.

    jason

    PS. I happen to also live in CT. Originally from Southbury (by way of Thomaston). I now live in Bristol (work in New Haven). How about you?
     
  7. LindaB

    LindaB
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jason
    if you are in need of work (paid) contact me! I have 2 scripts that need work, using MySql and CGI
    (monopro links database and a calendar script)
    also have quite a few more!
    Linda
     
  8. Mdterp

    Mdterp
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    When dealing with CGI Scripts make sure that you are "Chmoding" the files correctly.

    -Bill
     
  9. Bro Ben

    Bro Ben
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am your neighbor. I live in Wolcott about 2 minutes from the Bristol Line. I just to go to church in Bristol years ago.
     

Share This Page

Loading...