1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Please help me understand

Discussion in 'General Baptist Discussions' started by Psalm 100, Jun 16, 2006.

1. Psalm 100

Psalm 100 New Member

I am new to the SBC, and Baptists in general, as I was saved and attended for a long time in a charismatic church (which doctrines I generally refute as I've grown in Christ).

So I don't understand the hoopla surrounding the convention and all the politics involved. One thing that attracted me to my current church (and the Baptists churches) was the local governing of the church. And I still believe that for the most part, SBC churches adhere to this.

But I see all the discussions and arguments concerning the SBC, it's board members, it's trustees, it's programs, and I wonder why? I thought the purpose of the convention was to be a sharing of resources by individual churches to promote missions and education. I thought the convention was supposed to basically run in the background, and leave the theology for the churches.

I don't disagree with the concept of the convention, but am I wrong in thinking that it's grown way larger than what it was intended to?

2. rbell

rbell Active Member

No you are not, and yes it has.

3. PastorSBC1303

PastorSBC1303 Active Member

Psalm 100, I think you are right in your observations and many of us have concerns along the same line. I think that is why many of us are excited about the new direction some things have taken at this years convention. Hopefully some of that is going to change in the near future.

4. Cailiosa

Cailiosa New Member