1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Preparing to hear from God

Discussion in '2003 Archive' started by Pastorba, Sep 17, 2003.

1. Pastorba

Pastorba New Member

As a pastor I am well aware of the expectations of my congregation on my preparedness when I enter the pulpit to preach. They rightly expect me to have spent enough time in the Scriptures to give them an accurate interpretation and then be able to effectively apply that truth to their everyday lives.

My question is for the lay people out there. What do you do to prepare to hear from God in the message? Please be as specific as possible as I am trying to help my people "prepare" themselves to hear from God in the messages.

By specific I mean something like, "I get up at 7:00 am and pray for my pastor to preach freely and with authority and that God will show me exactly the truth that I need for that day. I then ask Him to give me the courage and ability to obey His truth." Instead of an example like, "I pray to prepare myself."

Thank you all for your responses. I am just trying to do my best to communicate clearly the wonderful truths of the Gospel message. [​IMG]

2. RaptureReady

RaptureReady New Member