1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Pride...is it ok, or is it frowned upon in Christianity

Discussion in 'General Baptist Discussions' started by trubeliever, Dec 2, 2007.

1. trubeliever

trubeliever New Member

Hi all,

I became a believer this past summer.

I've run into a dilemma. I'm constantly learning more and more about christianity. But.....here is a situation that has arisen and I'm having a lot of trouble dealing with it.

I am a professional classical, orchestral musician. When I say professional, I mean that I've dedicated my life to perfecting this craft. (I know....you can never perfect it...but I strive to be the best I can be and to do it in a dignified way). And, I make my living being a successful musician.

The church asked me to help out with their music ministry. And, I said..ok. Now, the music ministry does a great job of ministry. But, as far as music goes, it's just very different and not the quality I'm accustomed too. It's not even in the same realm. Anyway....I got caught in a conversation with a worship leader who said some things that were offensive to me as far as my professionalism goes. I tried to let it go, but after a while, I had to explain that it was poor judgement for him to try and equate this church music with amateurs to a professional symphony musician. It's like comparing a kid in a go-cart to a nascar racer. That may seem cocky, but, there is that stark of a contrast. And this worship leader, being a very mediorcre musician can't truly tell the difference. It would be the equivilant of me telling a pastor how to preach.