1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Primitive Baptists

Discussion in '2004 Archive' started by Mitsy, May 3, 2004.

1. Mitsy

Mitsy New Member

Are there any members on this board? If so, I'd love to converse with you. I've been attending a Primitive Baptist Church for over a year now (my background is Baptist but not Primitive Baptist). Also, the Primtive Baptist website talks about "foot washing" as part of communion, however, that has not been done in the church I'm attending. I posted on another thread about "closed communion" which bothers me a bit. You have to be a member of the Primitive Baptists to partake..not merely a baptised Christian.

2. Bro. James Reed

Bro. James Reed New Member

Mitsy, I posted a reply on the other thread about Closed or Close Communion. Closed being none can participate except the local congregation and Close being none can participate outside of our Primitive Baptist fellowship.

Bro. James

BTW, I believe there are about 10 of us PBs on this board who regularly post.

3. pinoybaptist

pinoybaptist Active Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Hello, Mitsy. I am one of the PB's Bro. James Reed mentioned post here regularly, sometimes in irregular ways.
    Anyway, I read with interest some of your questions and hesitations about foot washing and about 'rebaptism'. Notice the quotations. As Bro. Reed mentioned somewhere in this board, Primitive Baptists maintain that the Bible says 'One Lord, One Faith, One Baptism', and since the split in the 1830's that led to the
    Black Rock Address ( CLICK THIS LINK if you want to read it)we have not considered baptisms of other Baptist orders in the 'One Baptism' of scripture (Bro. Reed, correct me in this if needed).