1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Question about KJV

Discussion in 'Bible Versions & Translations' started by JRG39402, Mar 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JRG39402

JRG39402 New Member

I am new to the discussion, so please keep it within reasonably simple as possible. Who were the translators of the KJV (for anybody)? and why is their version to be held in higher reguard (for KJVO people only please)?

2. robycop3

robycop3 Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Here's a site with some info on the AV translators. Bear in mind that this is a KJVO site containing mucho KJVO propaganda, if you read it beyond the pages that deal with those translators.

http://www.jesus-is-lord.com/transtoc.htm

As for your second question, I am very anti-KJVO, and as per your request, I shall withhold my answer.

3. Logos1560

Logos1560 Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    All the translators of the KJV were members of the Church of England. Below is a list of their names compiled from the lists given by others such as Gustavus Paine, Olga Opfell, Geddes MacGregor, and Alexander McClure. .

Abbot, George (1562- 1633)
    Aglionby, John (? - 1611)
    Andrewes, Lancelot (1555- 1626)
    Andrewes, Roger
    Barlow, William ( ? - 1613)
    Bedwell, William (1563 - 1632)
    Bilson, Thomas (1546-7 - 1616) co-editor
    Bing [or Byng], Andrew (1574 - 1652)
    Bois [or Boys], John (1561- 1644)
    Branthwaite, William (1563 -1620)
    Brett, Richard (1560 - 1637)
    Burleigh, Francis
    Chaderton [or Chatterton], Laurence (1536-7 -1640)
    Clarke [or Clerke], Richard ( ? - 1634
    Dakins, William ( ?- 1607)
    Dillingham, Francis ( ? - 1611)