Rating threads

Discussion in 'Member Questions, Feedback & Suggestions' started by Trotter, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not a huge problem but why is it, when I want to rate a thread that has been rated by someone else, I am told that I have already rated the thread?

    It is usually on a thread someone has rated as five stars (looks like the poster of he thread in most cases due to the content), and I would rather rate it down. My opinion may just be my own, but it irks me to be told I have given it when there is no way I would have rated a load of bunk as high as possible.
     
  2. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not to be a pain, but this problem still exists.

    It is extremely annoying when so [idiots*] rate a thread down because of their own personal misconceptions/hangups, but when I try to rate it up I am told I have already rated the thread?!?!?! Hardly.

    I am no stranger to vBulletin as I run a forum that uses it (currently on 3.8.4).The options for rating threads in the vBulletin Options are simply yes/no, but the usergroups should allow for rating threads. The simple fact that I am being told that I have already rated the threads is what is puzzling me.

    [* Self-censored as that is the mildest term I could use for some of those in question. :D ]
     
  3. SaggyWoman

    SaggyWoman
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    17,933
    Likes Received:
    8
    Very interesting. It does do that. I don't usually rate threads, but I generically rated this one,which had not been rated, and it took my vote.

    On another thread, which I had not rated, it did not take because supposedly I had already voted.

    I don't know!!
     
  4. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I try to rate it I am told that I have already voted.

    I guess whoever gets there first gets to decide for everyone then...
     
  5. AndrewT

    AndrewT
    Expand Collapse
    <b>Webmaster</b>

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    The rating feature is a known bug in the software. They just released an update so hopefully that will fix it.
     
  6. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response, Andrew. It would be nice if it did fix it. From my experience with vB over the years I have found it prudent to wait and see. :D
     
  7. SaggyWoman

    SaggyWoman
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    17,933
    Likes Received:
    8
    woo hoo hooo.
     
  8. windcatcher

    windcatcher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just now tried to rate this thread... and it states I've already rated it. Imagine that.... the first time I've visited this section and this thread.
     
  9. AndrewT

    AndrewT
    Expand Collapse
    <b>Webmaster</b>

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is fixed.
     
  10. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Andrew. Much appreciated.
     

Share This Page

Loading...