1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Reformed views of baptism

Discussion in 'Other Christian Denominations' started by PastorFaulk, Aug 1, 2007.

1. PastorFaulk

PastorFaulk New Member

I am a pastor an international church in Japan, and being that we are one of the only english speaking churches here, we attaract many who are not baptists. a church wide discussion has begun on the nature of baptism, and weather it is "covenant entrance" or believers only. I have presented scripture plainly and attempted to let GOd's word speak, but it seems to no avail. I would love some help in explaining believers baptism.

2. pinoybaptist

pinoybaptist Active Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Welcome to the Board, Pastor Faulk.
    I'm sure you'll get a load of help from the knowledgable people here.

3. billwald

billwald New Member

Yes, baptism is the NT equivalent of OT circumcism. It welcomes babies into the covenant community.

4. Analgesic

Analgesic New Member

Hey now -- no fair asking for help in shutting down Brother Leino!!

5. Andre

Andre Well-Known Member

Faith:
    Non Baptist Christian
    I understand that protestants generally view baptism as a purely symbolic act. I have held that view "by default" for decades. I am now asking myself whether the following position is sustained by the Scriptures: that the physical act of baptism actually results in a real change in the person baptized, and not one that is simply the outworkings of the symbollism of the act. This distinction is a little hard to explain.