Resetting browser for searches?

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Gina B, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. Gina B

    Gina B
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    16,944
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm really annoyed. I tested my theory by checking it out on someone else's computer in the house, and it's true.

    The stupid search engines pick up on your browsing history and give you results based on it.

    So if I do a google search from my computer and do one from another computer in the exact same house, I come up with different results.

    I do not like this at all. I use Firefox. I do have an email account with Google, and I use google searches and only occasionally use other search engines.

    Can you tell me how to reset whatever I need to reset and quit getting results based on my browsing history?
     
  2. NaasPreacher (C4K)

    NaasPreacher (C4K)
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    78
    It is in your Google 'My Account'

    Go 'Web History' and then hit 'pause'
     
  3. Gina B

    Gina B
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    16,944
    Likes Received:
    1
    Got it, thanks! Wish I'd known that one a long time ago...
     
  4. Brian30755

    Brian30755
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if you don't log-in to Google before using it, it doesn't track your search history, correct?
     
  5. NaasPreacher (C4K)

    NaasPreacher (C4K)
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    78
    Your browser will track it of course, but if you are not logged in Google will not track your history with you account.
     

Share This Page

Loading...