1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Role of Holy Spirit before Pentecost

Discussion in '2004 Archive' started by koreahog2005, Oct 5, 2004.

1. koreahog2005

koreahog2005 New Member

I'm still learning about this. What do you guys and gals think? My impression is that although the Holy Spirit was active and at times empowered certain leaders (in terms of physical strength, prophecy, etc.) of His people prior to Jesus’ death and resurrection, He did not permanently empower all Christians with spiritual gifts until the day of Pentecost (Acts 1:8; 2:1-4). Other relevant passages are Numbers 11:29; Joel 2:28-32; John 7:39; 14:17; and 16:7. It is also my impression that the active work of the Holy Spirit was necessary in Old Testament days to counteract total depravity before a person could have faith whether our perspective comes from five-point Calvinism (regeneration), Arminianism (prevenient grace), or three-point Calvinism (special conviction). Let me know what you think.

2. Ben W

Ben W Active Member
    Site Supporter

I think that the Holy Spirit was the fourth figure in the furnace with Shadrach Meshach and Abednego, Daniel Ch 3.

3. koreahog2005

koreahog2005 New Member

Ben, that's the first time I have heard the fourth person in Daniel 3:25 interpreted as the Holy Spirit. I have heard others say that the person was an ordinary angel or preincarnate Jesus.

4. billwald

billwald New Member

Why do you think that his role has changed. Roll=job description?

5. koreahog2005

koreahog2005 New Member