Russian/Cyrillic Fonts

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Squire Robertsson, May 31, 2003.

  1. Squire Robertsson

    Squire Robertsson
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2000
    Messages:
    9,650
    Likes Received:
    312
    We've gotten a new machine, a nifty swifty HP Pavilion. It came with WP10 and Win XP/Home. We've'e been able to do English/Russian word processing on our machines since WP 6 for DOS two machines ago. At my first computer swap after the wedding, I bought a bi-lingual keyboard (it had the standard US keyboard with the standard Russian one on the keys in outlined letters e.g. Russian t on the English n.). Though, we had to wait for the next machine to use it. I owned a Radio Shack XT compatible at the time of the wedding that ran DOS 3.3. It was just slightly better than those of you who computed [​IMG] by rubbing two sticks together and ate dinosaurs at 1 am.

    However, with the new machine, even though I've added access to the Russian keyboard at "My Computer" and likewise made the same adjustment to WP10. WP10's two Russian fonts will not let me easily access any punctuation marks. Any ideas or sources?
     
  2. Frogman

    Frogman
    Expand Collapse
    <img src="http://www.churches.net/churches/fubc/Fr
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    5,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check out the following site it has several links you may be able to find something to help you. I was able to download a Russian Font (3) and successfully use them in my microsoft word and e-mail programs.

    http://babel.uoregon.edu/yamada/fonts/russian.html

    Bro. Dallas Eaton [​IMG]
     
  3. Squire Robertsson

    Squire Robertsson
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2000
    Messages:
    9,650
    Likes Received:
    312
    Thanks but all of the good ones are for the Mac. I downloaded two of them. Let you know how they work.
     
  4. Frogman

    Frogman
    Expand Collapse
    <img src="http://www.churches.net/churches/fubc/Fr
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    5,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your welcome, I hope it works for you. I had to fiddle (and I can't fiddle worth a hoot) for a while to get the fonts loaded into my font folder, but finally did get them.

    Bro. Dallas Eaton
     
  5. Squire Robertsson

    Squire Robertsson
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2000
    Messages:
    9,650
    Likes Received:
    312
    The yamada fonts all look like they are True Type fonts even those that are labeled "Mac". Can XP open up and use these fonts? I finally got one of the fonts to work. XP seems to be monolingual :( and ethnocenteric.
     
  6. Frogman

    Frogman
    Expand Collapse
    <img src="http://www.churches.net/churches/fubc/Fr
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    5,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have XP also and I have power archiver zip program. I had the same problem, at first I would have to open the zip folder and then put it on my taskbar, leaving the font open while I worked with it. Now I do not have to. The font works in my outlook express mailbox and in Word Pad and the microsoft word processor.

    My outlook express has a unicode message that appears when I write a mail message in the russian font and I have to make sure I send it in unicode or the computer does change it. I remember reading on the web-site (I think) that unicode was needed.

    I know very little about computers (I have an e-machine now) my first computer was a Mac I purchased in '92 and I learned everything I could do with it, but I never had the memory installed in it required to connect to the internet. I will search my program files and see if I do have the unicode program or if it is just something in my outlook express box and let you know.

    Bro. Dallas Eaton
     

Share This Page

Loading...