1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Southern Evangelical Seminary

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by Dr. Bob, Aug 17, 2004.

1. Dr. Bob

Dr. Bob Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    A poster asked me to start this thread in a Baptist-only area:

"Is Southern Evangelical Seminary a new evangelical school?" Norman Geisler is the president of this school. The school is located in Charlotte, NC.

2. Marcia

Marcia Active Member

I just saw this post as I don't usually check in on this forum!

I am an off-campus student at SES and have 30 hrs. It is a rather new school. Dr Geisler co-founded it in 1992, I think.

It is very Bible and Christ centered with a strong emphasis on apologetics -- no big surprise since Dr. Geisler is one of the best apologists around.

Dr. Geisler wanted to start a school that offered a degree in apologetics. I think at the time SES was founded, no seminary had a degree in apologetics. Since then, several schools have started offering degrees in apologetics and adding more apologetics courses. I believe it was the influence of SES.

The courses and profs are excellent. I've learned a lot!

3. Dr. Bob

Dr. Bob Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    Is it baptistic? I'm not a Geisler fan, but appreciate the work he has done for the Body of Christ.

Also you spoke of "external" program. Any info would help.

4. Marcia

Marcia Active Member