1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Stepping out in faith...sorta

Discussion in 'Pastoral Ministries' started by ANewCreature, Jan 2, 2008.

1. ANewCreature

ANewCreature New Member

Not totally yet, but I've just completed seminry, mostly through online courses but a few modules. I've left much of my former law practice behind, though I'm not yet listed as inactive - pray some more money comes my way, as there are 3-4 people/couples who have said they'll have me do their estates, but they've been saying that for months :laugh: And, i'm posting this here because there doesn't seem to be a "getting to know you" forum. Plus, my background is part of my questions for all of you and requests for prayer.

Anyway, my name is Doug, but I've chosen this screnname because my favorite verse is 2 Cor. 5:17, and I pray I never lose the amazement I have at that fact I became a new creature in Christ back in college. I had all sorts of factual knowledge about the Bible, but it was finally sitting down and reading a Gideon's New Testament given to me then that I realized I need to receive Him as my Savior, that despite how good I tried to be, it wouldn't be enough. I'd gone to a Lutheran church as a child which was good for facts, but not good on encouraging decisions

Anyway, my home church is fabulous, but I figure any help and encouragement will be good, and some ofyou might even know of a good situation for me, as I'm trying to see where the Lord calls me: