Still mousin' around

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by preacher, Dec 23, 2005.

  1. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    I asked a question about mouse problems awhil back with no positive results. But you all DID try!
    Now I've got another one...The mouse in question is the PS/2 model. I got a USB to PS/2 adapter & tried that with no sucess. It would reconize that new hardware was detected, but would list it as an unknown device, with notheng listed in the Device Mngr, nor the mouse section in the control panel. I tried the new hardware wizard with no sucess. No way to load any drivers for it.
    Actually I read on a web site, Computer Hope I believe, that most times a mouse doesn't require a driver.
    For a reminder my system is 2000 Pro. amd 300 processor, 160 ram. I'm still currently using the serial mouse but the buttons are about to fall off..no joke!!
    Thanks weather ya can help or not!!!

    If I can't solve this I may just take both of'em over to the Pit Stop & let them guys use them for cat bait!!
     
  2. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've never gotten a mouse work with a ps/2 to usb adapter to work, don't know why, but just haven't :)
     
  3. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Normally, a regular mouse doean't need a driver.

    My mouse does, but that's because it has an extra button on the side and a clickable wheel.

    I'm at a lost on this one, brother. Win2000 is a whole new kettle of fish to me. The systems at the place i'm working has Win2000, and it works a wee bit different than I'm used to...

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  4. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats all right I actually tore into the new mouse to check the guts, it had a chip in it from ARESON. I did a search & found a site for them....with drivers! But alas, to no avail. I downloaded & installed but the same problems existed. Too bad too this mouse with the mfgr. drivers will do all kinds of things a normal wheel type won't do. But any way I guess I'll just duct tape this old one or sumpin'!!!
     
  5. standingfirminChrist

    standingfirminChrist
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    for your mouse problem, the drivers may need updating. you may want to try www.driversguide.com. They carry many drivers for many products
     
  6. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank's but I had tried that too.
    But....I partialy solved the problem yesterday. I was going thru the device mgr. double checking & figured I'd disable my modem & try that again. I rebooted & the same thing, just a bunch of stuttering bleeps & no other sound working. Well I went back to enable my modem & my sound returned! So now I can use the good mouse...I just have to disable the modem if I need to shutdown. Yeah it's sorta' a pain but hey...it beats ducttape!! But thanks again for all the input!
     

Share This Page

Loading...