Strange Editing Problems

Discussion in 'Member Questions, Feedback & Suggestions' started by InTheLight, Mar 25, 2016.

  1. InTheLight

    InTheLight
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    617
    This issue has just shown up in the past week or so.

    When making a post, and after a moment of inactivity (gathering thoughts, looking for links, proofreading, etc.) when attempting to continue typing, nothing happens. That is, the cursor stays in the spot it was last positioned and any typing on my keyboard does nothing--no characters, no movement of the cursor, nothing. Even more inexplicable, if I hit the spacebar, the entire page scrolls down to the bottom of the website. I then have to use my mouse or grab the vertical bar and scroll up to my post, position my cursor, and try again. Usually, I get the same problem. No entering of text when typing characters and when I tap the spacebar the page scrolls down to the bottom.

    Sometimes when I tap the spacebar the action is as if I've hit the Back button on my browser. That is, I'm back to the forum thread index. Most times, I can go back into the thread and my response is at the bottom of the thread in the Reply window, characters greyed out. I can usually recover my post, finish up and post it.

    I've discovered if I get to the point where the cursor is unresponsive if I click the left mouse button repeatedly, or highlight a (small) portion of text and delete it, I can "reset" the process and continue typing as normal.

    At first I thought opening another window in my browser, surfing around for a bit, then coming back to my unfinished post caused the problem, but it happens if I'm making a post and pause for a bit (get a phone call, for example) than attempt to continue.

    Sometimes I will done with my post, pause and proofread it, then decide I want to add something, or make a correction and the problem crops up again. It's getting very frustrating.

    I do use an ad-blocker, but I have always used one, whereas the problem with editing posts has just started recently. (And it just did it now....)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. InTheLight

    InTheLight
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    617
    OK, in the process of making/editing the above post I was twice directed back to the thread index, my post abandoned. I was able to recover by going into the History tab on my browser and finding the post. It's quite jolting to hit the spacebar and all of a sudden by removed from your thread.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Santha

    Santha
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    176
    That's weird, let me see what's happening.
     
  4. Santha

    Santha
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    176
    When did you start noticing this issue?
    Also what browser are you using?
     
  5. InTheLight

    InTheLight
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    617
    Another thing I've noticed. When I'm posting the "Share This Page" Box just below the window I'm posting in is continually showing the message "Loading".
     
  6. InTheLight

    InTheLight
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    617
    I'd say about a week ago, maybe a couple of days more than a week.

    I'm using Firefox. I've turned off the ad blocker for the time being. Will let you know if it makes a difference. If I look at the browser tab for this page it shows it is "Connecting" (constantly busy).
     
  7. Santha

    Santha
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    176
    That loading message is a false message.
    Nothing is being loaded, it just a static text that is being displayed.
    It is on my to do list to clean it up.
     
  8. InTheLight

    InTheLight
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    617
    OK. I'm giving BaptistBoard a whirl using Chrome for a while. I'll let you know how it goes.
     
  9. Santha

    Santha
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    176
    Loading text gets displayed on all the browser.
    Anyways coming back to the editing issue - did you see it consistently happening on firefox or intermittently?
     
  10. Santha

    Santha
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    176
    FYI - The loading message is fixed now.
     
  11. InTheLight

    InTheLight
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    617
    Well, it happens several times a day on Firefox, but not every time I post.
     
  12. InTheLight

    InTheLight
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    617
    Screen grab:

    BB Tab.JPG
     
  13. Santha

    Santha
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    176
    Ok it loads really quick for me less than 5 secs.
    I am starting to think some of these issues could be due to your internet service provider not pointing to our updated DNS.

    Please try this if you're using windows.


    1. Go to the Start menu, click Run and type 'cmd'
    2. In the command prompt type 'ipconfig /flushdns'

    This will flush the dns from the windows and after that try loading the page.
    Once the page loads hit Ctrl+F5.
    This is a onetime time thing and doesn't have to be repeated every time.
     
  14. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,348
    Likes Received:
    789
    I am having the exact same issue. I use Chrome
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,348
    Likes Received:
    789
    If we went to out ISP they would point to you. the thing is none of this was an issue before the software change.
     
  16. Santha

    Santha
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    176
    Did you try to flush the DNS with the steps I posted?
     
  17. Santha

    Santha
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    176
    What software change are you referring to?
     
  18. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,348
    Likes Received:
    789
    The main reason the former owner left the same software without an update since 1998 is because it had no bugs and he did not want to create any. Its a software issue.

    By the way it just happened to me again in the middle of typing this post.
     
  19. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,348
    Likes Received:
    789
    We used to be vbulletin
     
  20. Santha

    Santha
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    176
    It is not a software issue.
    If it was a software issue, you would have seen this starting Aug/Sep 2015.
    We use CDN to cache static content to speed up the site, and the site is on the best server it has ever been to speed up page load time.
    Also if it is a software issue - everyone will face it, not just a select few starting last week.
    This makes me thing this related to DNS cache and IP switch.

    We can't go back to stone age, just because we had no vehicle accidents then :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...