1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Sunday School Teaching Methods

Discussion in 'General Baptist Discussions' started by jtwanabe, Aug 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jtwanabe

jtwanabe New Member

I have been an adult Sunday school teacher in my church for several years. The Lord seems to have been please and the class continues to grow. Still I am still trying to "speak as I ought to speak". To be just a better communicator.

I usually have about 35-40 minutes to speak. I generally put my lesson down in outline form with referenced scriptures included. Then I just follow the outline pretty close unless the Lord leads otherwise. I put together my own lessons.

I would like to ask fellow adult teachers what their method is. What works for you and why you think it does. And just to save a lot of typing and time I am well aware that it is the Lord who blesses. I'm really looking into just nuts and bolts info.

Thanks,
    RM

2. Joseph M. Smith

Joseph M. Smith New Member

I would not want to read too much into what you have written, but it seems as though you have prepared a lecture, which you then speak to the class. The communication is one-way, if that is the case. Can you plan to ask some questions and get some discussions going? How about planning some short assignments to be done in small groups? Do you ever use audio-visuals? Variety is important in teaching techniques.

3. jtwanabe

jtwanabe New Member

Well I really encourage interaction in the lesson. We have recently moved to a new facility and about a third of the class are new arrivals. As a result there is not as much interaction as I would like.